2-point mount adapters

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by helzbane, Jan 14, 2010.

1. helzbane

helzbane Regular Member

2-point mount adapters / frame retainers

I started learning to string my rackets with an ATS Traveler recently and finished 2 different rackets. I strung both at 23lbs but the final result was always looser than my Ti10 strung at 21lbs. I noticed that the adapter/frame retainer for the 2 mounting points actually slightly lift the 6 center mains.

I'm assuming that this adapter/frame retainer is used by other similar 2-point machines and i'm just wondering if this is a common thing. If so, do you compensate by pulling extra tension on these mains or do you modify the adapter to be flat instead of tapered?

#1 helzbane, Jan 14, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2010
  2. adidascanada

adidascanada Regular Member

Hang on.....what models were the 2 racquets @ 23lbs? 1 piece or 2 piece? Same machine for the Ti10? same string for all three racquets?

#2 adidascanada, Jan 14, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2010
  3. helzbane

helzbane Regular Member

yup.... BG65, strung with 2 piece method... 2 HQ flying clamps and a starting clamp as well...

I'm not sure what the Ti10 was strung on b/c it was done at a shop for me when i first bought it....

4. adidascanada

It MAY have to do with a difference in "pulling" tension between your drop weight and the shop's machine (maybe the tension was set too high at the shop). It could also be explained by the techiques you vs the other other stringer is utilizing.

Is the 21lb racquet also a Ti10?

In any event, typically drop weight tension is consistent (if strung in the same manner) so once you find/"adjust" the tension on your machine to what you would expect from the performance of the racquet/strings you should be ok.

5. helzbane

helzbane Regular Member