User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Posts
    594
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Possible serve fault?!?

    My coach was telling me when some players serve, they will do the usual prep and get the birdie infront of the racket head but instead of serving, they will move both their arms from left to right or right to left (keeping the birdie infront of the racket head) so you are not sure if the birdie will be hit to the T or out wide and then they will serve

    Is this legal??

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,879
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, that is legal.

    Donna Kellogg serves like this (in international tournaments), and I've never seen her called for it.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    12,511
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Lars Paaske as well.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,879
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheung View Post
    Lars Paaske as well.
    Ooh, thanks for that. I'll have to take a look -- it's always good to have more than one example.

Similar Threads

  1. today's serve judge let me recall Yawen Zhang's 11 fault calls in WC 2006
    By cadlag in forum German Open / All England / Swiss Open 2011
    Replies: 76
    : 03-17-2011, 05:26 PM
  2. Switching from long serve to short serve in singles
    By JustinG in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 9
    : 07-28-2010, 07:32 PM
  3. Backhand Serve or Forehand Serve?
    By pyaarawala in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 69
    : 01-14-2009, 11:09 PM
  4. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
  5. receiving serve fault?
    By Ivan krivacka in forum General Forum
    Replies: 11
    : 08-22-2006, 03:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •