User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default is this a fault?

    Is this considered a fault, the try to drop it over the net, it doesnt go over. but for some strange reason i went to hit it under the net.

  2. #2
    Regular Member ryim_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong SAR, China
    Posts
    1,722
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    its been 5 minutes and i am still trying to understand what you're trying to say...maybe its my lack of comprehension lol

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    so what happened is they tried hit it over to us but doenst go over. While the birdie is still on their side, my racket touches it under the net before it hits the ground on their side of the court.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    oakleigh
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    sounds to me like it should be a fault...? your racquet shouldn't be crossing the net in any case, over or under.

  5. #5
    Regular Member ryim_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong SAR, China
    Posts
    1,722
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keenweisam View Post
    sounds to me like it should be a fault...? your racquet shouldn't be crossing the net in any case, over or under.
    This is not true. I believe your racket can go over to your opponent's court, so as long as the shuttle was hit on your side of the court and your racket does not hit any part of the net.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Markham.
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by li00075 View Post
    Is this considered a fault, the try to drop it over the net, it doesnt go over. but for some strange reason i went to hit it under the net.
    it is a fault............................................. .........

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No it's not a fault.

    Just to clarify the over or under:

    It is a fault if a player

    13.4.2 invades an opponent’s court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker’s side of the net;

    13.4.3 invades an opponent’s court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted

    but you cannot have a fault if the shuttle is already out of play

    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY

    A shuttle is not in play when:

    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;

    Therefore in this particular instance, because the shuttle hit the net and has already started to fall the shuttle is no longer in play and you cannot commit a fault.

  8. #8
    Regular Member ryim_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong SAR, China
    Posts
    1,722
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by druss View Post
    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY

    A shuttle is not in play when:

    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the strikerís side of the net;

    Therefore in this particular instance, because the shuttle hit the net and has already started to fall the shuttle is no longer in play and you cannot commit a fault.
    This is what I was thinking as well but was not 100% sure if a rule like this existed. Thanks druss!

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    oakleigh
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i stand corrected!

  10. #10
    Regular Member extremenanopowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    SG. Go for NCAP-L2 certified coach.
    Posts
    11,744
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    cool............

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by li00075 View Post
    Is this considered a fault, the try to drop it over the net, it doesnt go over. but for some strange reason i went to hit it under the net.
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the strikerís side of the net;

    If the attempted drop shot hits the net or post before you hit the shuttle, then it's not a fault, as the shuttle will have stopped being in play the moment it touched the net or post.

    If the attempted drop shot did not touch the net or post, then the shuttle is still in play until it hits the floor and you would have commited a fault by striking the shuttle.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the shuttle did not hit the net first

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    slovenia
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by li00075 View Post
    so what happened is they tried hit it over to us but doenst go over. While the birdie is still on their side, my racket touches it under the net before it hits the ground on their side of the court.
    it is tricky question :

    1) if the shutlle was still in play, what means it has not touched the net before it started falling towards the floor, it is yr opponents point

    2) if the shuttle has first touched the net and then starts to fall towards the floor, it is yr point, as the shuttle was no longer in play

Similar Threads

  1. Is it fault ?
    By a_tabassum in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 14
    : 03-05-2010, 11:37 AM
  2. Net fault
    By loweechng in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 13
    : 03-25-2009, 04:25 AM
  3. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
  4. Who is at fault?
    By Dendrobius in forum General Forum
    Replies: 34
    : 06-26-2006, 04:08 PM
  5. Is it a fault??????????
    By shanepaul86 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 8
    : 06-10-2005, 11:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •