advice for a newb - Nikon D300s

Discussion in 'Badminton Photography' started by Paul_A, Feb 23, 2010.

1. Paul_A

Paul_A Regular Member

Student
    I am new to DSLRs and I am thinking of getting a Nikon D300s. Plan to use it for a lots of stuff and badminton photos definitely being one of them. Any advice on my choice will be helpful. I'd like to know what kind of lenses I should be looking for as well.

2. ryim_

ryim_ Regular Member

Capital Market Research
    D300s is definitely an excellent choice as I find that my D90 is pretty good for everything that I use it for. For badminton (like many other sports), lens choice is crucial for taking good photos. You will definitely need a F2.8 or larger aperture lenses if you plan to shoot badminton photos.

3. ctjcad

ctjcad Regular Member

a very good camera.

as for the rest of advice, this thread (one of several) below has lots of good advice:cool:
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41195

#3 ctjcad, Feb 24, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2010
  4. ddannir

ddannir Regular Member

If money isn't a issue, get the D90. If it is, try looking for a D40. I have a D40 right now. It's a very good camera out of the box.

5. Mini Me

Mini Me Member

huh? the d300s costs a lot more than the d90. if money wasn't an issue i'd get a d3s + d3x + d300s :)

6. SibugiChai

SibugiChai Regular Member

YAB
    I think the lenses are much more important... get a expensive lenses

7. illusionistpro

illusionistpro Regular Member