Rejection and Improvement

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by jut703, Mar 17, 2010.

1. jut703

jut703 Regular Member

Just a while ago, I tried out for our school's varsity.

As you could probably imply from the title, I failed. I felt that I really played badly a while ago. Perhaps it was because I was playing with a sprain, but the pain didn't bother me until an hour after I started playing. Initially I felt so nervous and pressured. I lost my first game against this other guy trying out, mainly because I really felt pressured. My clears weren't reaching the back line so I didn't pressure the opponents enough, and I couldn't move around quick enough for the well-placed shots.

What could I possibly do to improve on my game? I know my shortcomings are partly mental and partly physical. Sadly, I don't have a coach right now because of financial difficulties. That's why it was very vital for me to get in the team because I could get free training that way. But with the way I played a while ago, I don't think I'll be receiving the confirmation text they said they'll send to those they think should get in.

I think my footwork was severely lacking a while ago, that's why I couldn't prepare properly to put power in my shots. I try to believe that it was just my sprain but perhaps I have to face the reality that I'm a sucky player. So I'm asking for help, how can I improve my footwork even if I don't have a coach right now?

2. extremenanopowe

extremenanopowe Regular Member

Chief Coach. The best and still active.
    www.extreme-power.org or xtremexn.blogspot.com
    There are lots of videos in there. The important thing is playing regularly and consistently. People can see a player with good calibre. Normally you'll need to join the uni badminton club regularly to let people know you.