User Tag List

Thread: hitting style

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default hitting style

i have been playing badminton for a couple of years now. over the years many people have been saying that when im ready to hit the shuttle im too tense. then i was watching badminton on tv and one of the commentators was saying about how the indonesians have such a relaxed hitting style. i was hoping that someone could clarify this for me does it just mean that they are really loose before they play a shot, or what?? when i play a shot i used to feel the shoulder blades almost touching (really used to pull back my racket arm), wondering if it is my technique that is wrong, but i never bothered too much about it because i could generate enough power - but now i am wondering whether addressing the shuttle in a relaxed style will give me more power.
    bit of an odd question lol, so any replies would be surprising but also helpful.
    thanks

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

It's more about technique, and whether you can play a consistent game throughout. With a good technique, your relaxed shots with good wrist technique can compensate for your power game. If you're too tense and go for too much power, it will ruin your overall game. It's the same principle at the nets, people approaching the net and clearing, some players tend to lounge and swing to get power which is wrong technique when you can do it with your wrist and eliminate swing. As for the indonesians (Maria Yulianti and TH), they are just lazy but they are skillful enough to know what they're doing!

Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Actually, the best technique gives a relaxed appearance. Even at the top level, it's easy to get tense; and once that happens, you will lose power because your muscles are no longer operating fluidly (tension blocks transfer of power along the kinetic chain).

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)