User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    SriLanka
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Shuttle touching the player outside the court

    Is it a fault,
    (1) If in play the shuttle touches the player when he is outside the court lines?
    (2) If the shuttle touches the player but this time he has one foot on the court and the other outside the court lines? Can someone clarify me these please..

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    123
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's a fault no matter where the player is.

    Quote Originally Posted by Laws of Badminton, 13.3.4
    It is a fault if in play, the shuttle touches the person or dress of a player.
    There are no further clauses. So even if the player is switching out their rackets during the rally off-court, if they get hit by the shuttle, it's their fault.



    Of course, the rules only refer to the player playing the current game. If a player from another court enters the court, it's usually a let per 14.2.5 or 14.2.7. If the shuttle happens to touch the invading player outside of the court, it's a fault (i.e. same as out):

    Quote Originally Posted by Laws of Badminton, 13.3.5
    It is a fault if in play, the shuttle touches any other object or person outside the court
    What matters here is where the shuttle touched the invading player, not where the invading player's feet are.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    SriLanka
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @phihag So as you've said the shuttle should make contact with the floor first, even if it is travelling outside..??
    Last edited by ShuttlePower; 06-13-2015 at 01:11 PM.

  4. #4
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    12,120
    Mentioned
    196 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^ Yes, it is still in play until it touches the ground. Doesn't matter if it was going way out or not.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    123
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShuttlePower View Post
    @phihag suppose that i'm leaving the shuttle travelling wide off the court, but accidently it touches a part of my dress,so as you said lose that point...?
    Yes, if you or your dress touches a shuttle in play, not matter the circumstances, that's a your fault.

    As a general guideline, umpires and line judges never judge where the shuttle would go, only where it does go.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    441
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Fault as people have explained.

    Kindest regards,

    -Ajay-

    Quote of the Day
    If at first you don't succeed, failure may be your style.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,963
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Definitely a fault; both cases.

  8. #8
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    12,120
    Mentioned
    196 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShuttlePower View Post
    @phihag So as you've said the shuttle should make contact with the floor first, even if it is travelling outside..??
    One good example would be where sometimes in social play your opponent hits it out the side of your court.

    You and he can tell it's going out, but you decide to be lazy and don't want to bend down to pick up the bird after it falls on the ground outside the court, so you decide to catch it in the air with your racket before it lands on the ground.

    In social games this is acceptable, but not in competition, even if there's no umpire present. It is your fault for not allowing it to land outside the court.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    SriLanka
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thnqs all.. Great explanations!! @phihag @visor @Rob3rt @InvincibleAjay

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cal Central
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phihag View Post
    It's a fault no matter where the player is.


    There are no further clauses. So even if the player is switching out their rackets during the rally off-court, if they get hit by the shuttle, it's their fault.



    Of course, the rules only refer to the player playing the current game. If a player from another court enters the court, it's usually a let per 14.2.5 or 14.2.7. If the shuttle happens to touch the invading player outside of the court, it's a fault (i.e. same as out):

    What matters here is where the shuttle touched the invading player, not where the invading player's feet are.
    Please use proper terms, especially after quoting sections of law.

    It is confusing when first the player from another court and then invading player are refered to in consecutive paragraphs.

    And to be absolutely factual, it is only a fault when the umpire sees and calls it.
    --

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •