User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    292
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default service fault question

    Alright so I came across this problem while someone was playing. So it was 3rd game and the score was 23-22. The person serves and the rally went on normally until that person won the point bring the game to 24-22 (won). But apparently both players didn't notice that they were standing on the wrong side in the beginning of the serve until later. So I was wondering what the official international badminton rule would have to say about this. who gets the point and etc.?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I believe he has to give you the point. It's an illegal serve = you

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,645
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    12 SERVICE COURT ERRORS
    12.1 A service court error has been made when a player:
    12.1.1 has served or received out of turn; or
    12.1.2 has served or received from the wrong service court;
    12.2 If a service court error is discovered, the error shall be corrected and the existing score shall stand.

    The score stays so the guy who won, won.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yep, it's not considered a fault. It should be fixed as soon as it's noticed but in reality, it should not have affected the outcome of the point so no fault.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    292
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    YEEE I usually see judges giving reminder if players are standing on the wrong side but because this is amateur level it's hard to monitor. Thx for clearing that for me guys!

  6. #6
    Regular Member extremenanopowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    SG. Go for NCAP-L2 certified coach.
    Posts
    11,735
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Good to bring this up. Also good for BWF to review the rules regularly.

Similar Threads

  1. Can an umpire call service fault?
    By Andrew in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 09-07-2012, 10:40 PM
  2. Service fault question
    By space-shuttler in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 7
    : 06-25-2009, 07:51 AM
  3. Rule question: am i at fault?
    By sikewong in forum General Forum
    Replies: 5
    : 07-08-2006, 04:03 AM
  4. Quick rules question - fault if a shuttle skims the hair?
    By BoboTheBadder in forum General Forum
    Replies: 8
    : 01-17-2005, 09:08 AM
  5. Service Question
    By Dave G in forum General Forum
    Replies: 6
    : 02-23-2002, 05:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •