Panasonic DMC-GH1

Discussion in 'Badminton Photography' started by raymond, May 15, 2010.

1. raymond

raymond Regular Member

Top Secret
    I'm considering a D-SLR/HD-camcorder. Anyone has any experience with this Panasonic model?

I'd like to be able to take crisp fast action photos on court, with an action "frozen in the air", and HD-recording that has a format easy to transfer out of the camera onto my PC (and with no complicated video format conversion).

Also, as you know, audience spacing is very tight, so I'd typically be taking photo/recording in 4-6 feet from one end of the court (perhaps closer). Currently I'm using a wide-angle lens, but this introduces some distortion (and still not taking the full court). Would be nice if the camera native lens can take care of it, so I don't need to add/change lens. What feature would you call this (zoom-out??)?

BTW, I'm a newbie in this photography/video-recording area. :)

2. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    Ahh, how I wish it could be that simple. The all-in-one package doesn't exist (manufacturers would have us believe otherwise)

3. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    you have two very different requirements.

to be able to take video very close to action. the panasonic body is ok. but you need a super-ultra wide angle lens, that exists in the form of a Panasonic 7-14mm f/4.0 lens. but that's a $1000 investment. on top of the $900 that you need to spend on the body. that's $1900.

and then for fast photography in badminton, there really isn't any solution in this package. the autofocus on the GH1 is pretty good for its class of camera (i have used the cousin GF1), but no where near a decent SLR. also there really isn't any lens that is fast enough for badminton.

4. raymond

raymond Regular Member

Top Secret
    I see. Haha. Now you shattered my dream..:p