User Tag List

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 35 to 47 of 47
  1. #35
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    5,436
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Smithy88 View Post
    How can you not pause before you do a forward swing then? Its one fluid motion forwards, what counts as a pause in this case. I suppose if you stand there for 10 seconds not serving then fine but what would be a delay in this case?
    Are we going round in Circles? Reread the thred and posts have indicated what is a "discernable pause"

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheung View Post
    Easy answer. If your backswing has a circular path and then goes forward, it will not pause....

    I pick up a few clues that the club is actually not a very high standard club.

    c) OP is in UK.
    Oi! a bit harsh!

    Regarding backswing pause. It is true it isn't pausing, but there is a point at which its velocity (movement in a particular direction) is zero

    Quote Originally Posted by Smithy88 View Post
    What i mean is if you just place the racket between you and the shuttle then hit what is an illegal pause. That is different to placing the racket, moving back and then moving forward.
    The rhythm of th forward & backward motion must be linear IMO..if the back swing is fast then stops then moves forward then it is illegal. The faster you move back the quicker you must move forward.

    I agree it is ambiguous when written down, but (as stated in previous posts by several members) it is easy to tell a pause in real life...

  2. #36
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    4,095
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think the "no-pause" rule must be there to stop the server getting a cheap receiver fault; a couple of the lads I play with occasionally use an exaggerated "hold" to get the receiver to, quite literally, fall off balance. I suppose it's to the service judge's discretion as to what constitutes an "excessive" hold (but to be honest the premitted height of the strike seems to vary widely across the judges, so why not this?).

  3. #37
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    A video would be needed to make an accurate response.
    However, if your serve is one continuous motion then it is legal. Nonetheless, you cannot be trusted to judge this yourself on your own, and it is really at your club's discretion. But, if you have played in a serious competition with a genuine umpire dedicated to your court itself (instead of just a standing umpire) and they declared that your serve was fine, then it is safe to assume that it is OK.

  4. #38
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    6,527
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blundey View Post

    The complaint: My motion is not 100% fluid and its been deemed im making two movement on flick serves.

    My observation: Im drawing back, going forward with the same momentum and at point of impact im using my finger grip to generate the flick. This finger snap/grip is what I believe they are complaining about, and im not sure if its because they get tricked out by it and get angry or because it genuinely is a fault.

    Any ideas?
    If others see your flick as "making two movement on the flick" then they may have something there. You cannot be your own judge ; that is why they have umpires.
    If you are so sure that you are right and the others wrong, how about posting a video of your flick serve showing a complete game together with the incident in which you are called for a flick fault.? A video of your flick that is not related to the time your flick serve is called a fault is not good enough for us to judge.

  5. #39
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,189
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Smithy88 View Post
    What i mean is if you just place the racket between you and the shuttle then hit what is an illegal pause. That is different to placing the racket, moving back and then moving forward.
    Then you should change to placing the racquet first, the positioning the shuttle to reduce ambiguity

  6. #40
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,189
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesd20 View Post
    Regarding backswing pause. It is true it isn't pausing, but there is a point at which its velocity (movement in a particular direction) is zero

    The rhythm of th forward & backward motion must be linear IMO..if the back swing is fast then stops then moves forward then it is illegal.
    But the rule does not state the movement must be in the vertical linear plane. Hence a slightly circular movement on the change from backswing to forwrd swing will enforce the legality of the serve...

  7. #41
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    22,181
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    well
    this serve sound like how lai pei jing serve
    but she face no problem in world junior championship and malaysia open

    here is the example
    http://watchbadminton.com/video-Yao-...ysia-open-2010
    minutes 1.28

    and here
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5o-alN9nfCc
    minutes 1.55

    this is not clear,from behind
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1a8zN2vjbo8
    7th second

    is this what u mean?
    Last edited by limsy; 07-10-2010 at 09:48 PM.

  8. #42
    Regular Member Thom_bad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Posts
    2,517
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On the second and third videos the serve is good i think..

  9. #43
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    22,181
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thom_bad View Post
    On the second and third videos the serve is good i think..
    some player get confused by her serve before
    but service judge never call fault on her
    so i think this is not the 'double motion'
    right?

  10. #44
    Regular Member Thom_bad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Posts
    2,517
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The motion isn't that 100% fluid but in this case one can't complain because it doesn't influence on the game

  11. #45
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    garden grove
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    one question about service. I see some people like to move their body back and lift their right arm and left arm at the same time then hit the bird.

    which mean they letting you see their arms not really moving but their back lean back I suppose.

    Is that illegal?

    To me it is because it is extra movement that disturb other.

  12. #46
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hmm if I understand right then it is actually much like Carsten Mogensen's serve, and that is perfectly legal allthough it tends to be abit high (above the waist)

    /Krysser

  13. #47
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,801
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    look at kido for high serves!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Illegal serve?
    By decoy in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 11
    : 10-07-2011, 09:54 PM
  2. Is Lin Dan's Serve Illegal?
    By sergesa in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 75
    : 04-09-2007, 11:54 PM
  3. my serve is illegal? please help...
    By yoyomonkey in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 7
    : 07-04-2006, 09:14 AM
  4. Serve illegal?
    By silentlight in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 8
    : 03-18-2005, 12:39 AM
  5. What's consider an illegal serve?
    By Sgt_Strider in forum General Forum
    Replies: 6
    : 07-23-2003, 07:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •