User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Striking the shuttle outside the court boundaries on service

    I'm almost certain I already know the answer to this, but I'm interested to see what others say. I know your feet have to be both on the ground, inside the service lines on hitting the shuttle, but what if you stand as far to the right side of the court as you legally can and reach as far to the right as you can, hitting the shuttle outside the court boundaries. Obviously, you still hit the shuttle diagonally to the opponent's receiving court, below the waist, with the racket downward, etc. There is no rule that says the shuttle has to be hit while inside the court, right?

    And I know somebody is going to say, 'Why would you want to?' I know the risks involved, but I've got a pretty powerful way of striking the shuttle this way that cuts across the court fairly low and at a sharp angle, which I think would be awkward to hit. I'm curious to try it sometime, although it might be a bit too cut-throat (and sometimes a bit wild).

    I can't see any reason why this wouldn't be legal. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    36,149
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    sure. aside from reaching over the net into opponent's court, there are no rules about contacting the shuttle outside any boundaries, whether it is service or during a rally.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rtc35 View Post
    ...but what if you stand as far to the right side of the court as you legally can and reach as far to the right as you can, hitting the shuttle outside the court boundaries. Obviously, you still hit the shuttle diagonally to the opponent's receiving court...
    Yes, this is legal. Something else you can do is stand very close to the centre, reach across the centre line, and hit the shuttle straight into the opponent's receiving area.

  4. #4
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,847
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow Do not get mixed up these 2 subject matters

    Quote Originally Posted by rtc35 View Post
    I'm almost certain I already know the answer to this, but I'm interested to see what others say. I know your feet have to be both on the ground, inside the service lines on hitting the shuttle, but what if you stand as far to the right side of the court as you legally can and reach as far to the right as you can, hitting the shuttle outside the court boundaries. Obviously, you still hit the shuttle diagonally to the opponent's receiving court, below the waist, with the racket downward, etc. There is no rule that says the shuttle has to be hit while inside the court, right?

    And I know somebody is going to say, 'Why would you want to?' I know the risks involved, but I've got a pretty powerful way of striking the shuttle this way that cuts across the court fairly low and at a sharp angle, which I think would be awkward to hit. I'm curious to try it sometime, although it might be a bit too cut-throat (and sometimes a bit wild).

    I can't see any reason why this wouldn't be legal. Any thoughts?
    .
    It is legal.

    Do not get mixed up these 2 subject matters;
    * Legally, where/how the server is standing, and
    * Legally, where/how the service is struck

    Each of these 2 matters has its own rules/laws (covering what we can do).
    .

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    6,527
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is actually quite simple. In badminton the shuttlecock cannot be either inside or outside the court boundary lines when not on the floor. Only when it has landed on the floor can one say it is outside or inside the boundary line.

    This rule applies for all shots, service and others.

    Many players may be aware that an overhead clear to the forehand of your opponent can be 6" outside the boundary line at the time the shuttle turn over, only to see it land 2" inside the boundary line as it lands on the floor. This is due to the ant-clockwise spin of the shuttle which will direct the shuttle's descend from outside to inside the side boundary line.

Similar Threads

  1. do you know the Law for service court errors?
    By kwun in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 18
    : 10-16-2012, 12:59 PM
  2. Singles low serve, shuttle touches white tape and lands in opponents service box.
    By Dillon in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 10-24-2011, 05:07 AM
  3. in service, the shuttle is hit by the receiverís partner
    By pcll99 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 17
    : 02-08-2011, 09:14 AM
  4. Shuttle Striking A Non-Receiving Doubles Player During Service
    By abedeng in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 69
    : 02-18-2010, 08:48 PM
  5. QUESTION: If my partner misses the shuttle during service ,can i take it for him??
    By unregistered in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 10
    : 09-23-2003, 01:29 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •