User Tag List

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 35 to 51 of 53
  1. #35
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,770
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow After the rally has ended, you can touch the net

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    But if you hit the net AFTER the bird touches the ground, it's not a fault right?
    .
    Correct.

    The rally ends when the bird touches the ground. After the rally has ended, you can touch the net.
    .

  2. #36
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    6,527
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    But if you hit the net AFTER the bird touches the ground, it's not a fault right?
    I don't think this is possible because it will take longer for the shuttlecock to fall to the floor than hitting the net following a shot. In theory this can only happen when the player deliberately hits the net with another stroke after the shuttle has fallen to the floor.

  3. #37
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,606
    Mentioned
    120 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by taneepak View Post
    I don't think this is possible because it will take longer for the shuttlecock to fall to the floor than hitting the net following a shot. In theory this can only happen when the player deliberately hits the net with another stroke after the shuttle has fallen to the floor.
    It can happen with a quick sharp tap downwards when the bird is taken a few inches above the net. The bird can travel fast enough down to the ground before the follow thru of the racket hits the net.

  4. #38
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    A similar thing that can happen is when the opponent's attempted drop shot fails to make it over the net. As soon as the shuttle hits the net it is out of play, so if your racket touches the net afterwards then it isn't a fault.

  5. #39
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,606
    Mentioned
    120 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alexh View Post
    A similar thing that can happen is when the opponent's attempted drop shot fails to make it over the net. As soon as the shuttle hits the net it is out of play, so if your racket touches the net afterwards then it isn't a fault.
    That is a very good point! Had I been more aware of the laws, I wouldn't have lost a point when this happened to me a few weeks ago.

  6. #40
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    6,527
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alexh View Post
    A similar thing that can happen is when the opponent's attempted drop shot fails to make it over the net. As soon as the shuttle hits the net it is out of play, so if your racket touches the net afterwards then it isn't a fault.
    This is technically not correct. When the shuttle hits the net it becomes out of play and a fault is called. What happens subsequently, whether the opponent hits or misses hitting the net is irrelevant because all shots after that "out-of-play" point is null and void.

  7. #41
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    6,527
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    It can happen with a quick sharp tap downwards when the bird is taken a few inches above the net. The bird can travel fast enough down to the ground before the follow thru of the racket hits the net.
    I don't think this is possible because the shuttle is a high drag projectile and the shuttle travel is much longer than the racket-to-net distance.

  8. #42
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by taneepak View Post
    This is technically not correct. When the shuttle hits the net it becomes out of play and a fault is called. What happens subsequently, whether the opponent hits or misses hitting the net is irrelevant because all shots after that "out-of-play" point is null and void.
    Yes, that's what I was trying to say. Player A hits the shuttle into the net. Then afterwards, player B's racket touches the net. Player A already faulted, so they lose the point. Player B's action doesn't count as a fault because the point is already over. Right?

  9. #43
    Moderator cobalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arrakis
    Posts
    8,724
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    But lets say:
    Player A hits a drop shot, the shuttle hits the top of the net and lingers tantalizingly..........
    At this time, player B goes to return the drop, and his racquet brushes the net for a moment.....
    Then, the shuttle drops over to player B's side.

    Has player B committed a fault?

  10. #44
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,975
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alexh View Post
    A similar thing that can happen is when the opponent's attempted drop shot fails to make it over the net. As soon as the shuttle hits the net it is out of play, so if your racket touches the net afterwards then it isn't a fault.
    To be precise:

    The shuttle is out of play when it hits the net and starts to fall. That's almost the same as what you said, but not quite.

  11. #45
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,770
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile Many of us do not know when a rally has finished/stopped

    Quote Originally Posted by Gollum View Post
    To be precise:

    The shuttle is out of play when it hits the net and starts to fall. That's almost the same as what you said, but not quite.
    .
    I gather that we all know that touching the net is illegal when a rally is continuing. But many of us do not know when a rally has finished/stopped.
    .

  12. #46
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,606
    Mentioned
    120 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris-ccc View Post
    .
    I gather that we all know that touching the net is illegal when a rally is continuing. But many of us do not know when a rally has finished/stopped.
    .
    Heh, next time I play, I'll purposely "accidentally" touch the net after I see the bird fall back on my opponent striker's side after a failed net or drop shot. That would be interesting.

  13. #47
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,770
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow When the shuttlecock hits the floor, the rally is considered to have ended

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Heh, next time I play, I'll purposely "accidentally" touch the net after I see the bird fall back on my opponent striker's side after a failed net or drop shot. That would be interesting.
    .
    But do make sure that the shuttlecock has landed on the floor first.
    .

  14. #48
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,606
    Mentioned
    120 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris-ccc View Post
    .
    But do make sure that the shuttlecock has landed on the floor first.
    .
    Ah, that's the tricky part!

    It is considered out of play as soon as it starts to fall down on their side of the net.

  15. #49
    Moderator cobalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arrakis
    Posts
    8,724
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Ah, that's the tricky part!

    It is considered out of play as soon as it starts to fall down on their side of the net.
    Oh! Smmmmoooooth!!!!

  16. #50
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    910
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, like said by visor. It is a fault if you're almost 100% certain that the bird cannot cross the net, the bird does not have to touch the ground at that point and you can smack the net and not be called for a fault.

  17. #51
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,975
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CantSmashThis View Post
    Yes, like said by visor. It is a fault if you're almost 100% certain that the bird cannot cross the net, the bird does not have to touch the ground at that point and you can smack the net and not be called for a fault.
    That's not quite correct.

    Suppose the shuttle is obviously going out, but has not yet touched the net or the ground. It is still in play, so your hitting the net would be a fault.

    If the shuttle has already hit the net and started to fall on the striker's side, then it is not in play. You have already won the rally and cannot be faulted.

    To make things even more confusing, here's another exception: you cannot be faulted if the shuttle has touched an opponent's racket without travelling back towards your court (e.g. the opponent hits it backwards, away from the net).

    See my page on obscure badminton rules for explanations of these arcana.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 37
    : 06-27-2011, 10:08 PM
  2. Google warning on search for Badminton World Federation?
    By jump_smash in forum General Forum
    Replies: 30
    : 01-28-2010, 04:05 PM
  3. Badminton World Federation Accredited badminton coach
    By macazteeg in forum Coaching Forum
    Replies: 7
    : 04-21-2009, 04:11 AM
  4. World Badminton Federation rankings, countries
    By Gabriyel in forum General Forum
    Replies: 5
    : 09-20-2007, 11:16 PM
  5. badminton World Federation
    By Abhay in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    : 09-03-2007, 03:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •