Badminton tryouts are approaching soon, I need a new racket

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by KYW917, Jul 27, 2010.

1. KYW917

KYW917 Regular Member

I've been using a 10 dollar racket for the past two years, and I really think it's time for an upgrade. I really want a starting position this year, so I'm trying to improve in every way possible

Looking at the stickied threads, I already got a pretty good idea. But I would like to let you experts recommend me a good racket :)

If you want a racquet:
    1. How often do you play, how serious are you?
    2. What style of player are you? (Aggressive smasher, net player ...)
    3. Do you care much about durability or is it all about performance?
    4. How much money do you want to spend?

1. I've been on the school team for 2 years now. Never been a starter, but I really hope to be. Not sure if I will be playing singles or doubles though.

2. I don't have much strength, so my smashes rarely have that satisfying "WHOP" sound whenever I clear or smash it. I prefer to try and hit my shots to good locations instead of hitting hard shots that go by my opponent. I've developed a decent drop shot. Sometimes, I even try hitting those long drop shots from the back of the court. (Usually works) However, I can still clear and smash if I get the chance. I'm hoping to try and get more strength, so any suggestions on what workouts to do would be nice too.

3. A happy medium between the two?

4. I don't have that much to spend right now, so anything around 50? Give or take 20 bucks.

Hope that didn't take too much effort to read, and thanks for helping

2. KYW917

KYW917 Regular Member

Realized I didn't fully answer 1.

1. Team practice is every day for about 2 hours. But I'm practicing about twice a week during the summer.

3. justsomekid

justsomekid Regular Member

school
    maybe try the apacs rackets? they do the job reasonably well and has decent price tags. look around on the fourm for reviews