I need tips and advice about my mental game. Please help if you possible.

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by quacky, Sep 17, 2010.

1. quacky

quacky Regular Member

Hello,

I used to play badminton on and off but my health got in the way until recently. I have gotten less sickly so I started to take badminton, something I've always loved, a bit more serious with a light racket and quality shoes.

But now that I am able to put more effort into the game, I am noticing a very strange trend. I can't seem to win games no matter who the opponent is. I am a beginner of course and others I played with are beginners too. While I've been sickly, at least I have watched some games and know intellectually the strokes and have good movements for a beginner (even when I can't play, I can still watch teaching videos online). The people I play with are not serious about the game and do not have correct movements or strokes. Nor can they return most of my shots when I do them correctly.

However, in a game, I will start out well and end badly. I have plenty of stamina compared to my opponents. I start out with serves they cannot return and hits they cannot react to. But as the point different increase, my game changes. The more points ahead I am, the worst I become. I mimic my opponents. If I then start losing by several points, my game gets better until we are even. It's like my body or mind doesn't want to play a game. Maybe it's a bad habit I picked up from being too sickly for too long.

Does anyone know about this and have any couching tips? In addition to trips, are there any training I can do (such as a person who is scared of the bird can have a partner smash at them repeatedly). I don't want to win to win, but i want to play honestly and improve myself.

2. MSeeley

MSeeley Regular Member

Professional