User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Hyderabad, India
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Shuttle falling on the line while serving

    Dear All,
    When I serve the shuttle to the opponent, if the shuttle falls exactly on the line (any of the lines) who will gain the point ? Me or my opponent ?

    Regards,
    Rajesh

  2. #2
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,571
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    If the shuttle touches any of the lines, that is considered to be "in" court.
    Whether in service or rally.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,326
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    If the shuttle touches any of the lines, that is considered to be "in" court.
    Whether in service or rally.
    But not any other line except the service line.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Sgbad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loh View Post
    But not any other line except the service line.
    good one loh

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Hyderabad, India
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loh View Post
    But not any other line except the service line.
    Meaning that the shuttle cannot fall on any other line than the service line during a serve. is it ?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If the shuttle lands on the line then it counts as being in. But you have to use a bit of common sense. For instance, if you're serving, then it has to land inside the service area, or on one of the lines around that area. If you're supposed to be serving to the right hand side and the shuttle lands on the left hand side line or on one of the lines on your own side, then of course it's a fault.

  7. #7
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,571
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loh View Post
    But not any other line except the service line.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rajeshgsb View Post
    Meaning that the shuttle cannot fall on any other line than the service line during a serve. is it ?
    Now see what you've done Loh, you've gone and confused the OP.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,326
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Now see what you've done Loh, you've gone and confused the OP.
    Hahaha, I'm sorry. I assume that he is playing on the singles court and that he knows some basic rules on serving.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    111
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the line is still considered part of the court area, so its in.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Blitzzards's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    GMT-04:00
    Posts
    1,435
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Right in the centre

    What about the line, directly in the centre? I have sometimes hit it and the people at my club have ALWAYS considered it as out, although from watching international double matches I notice that the serving players will usually aim directly for the centre line (especially Fu Haifeng's "index finger, number 1" serve if you can catch it on closeup sometimes) as one of their game plan
    Last edited by Blitzzards; 10-16-2010 at 10:02 PM.

  11. #11
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,326
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    touching the center line is IN.

  12. #12
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,326
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Also touching the boundary or tramline within the service court is IN.

  13. #13
    Regular Member george@chongwei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    MIA
    Posts
    29,916
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It will be called IN..
    and u get the point.

  14. #14
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,326
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by george@chongwei View Post
    It will be called IN..
    and u get the point.
    Why you called so late umpire!

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cal Central
    Posts
    148
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default shuttle on the line of receiver's court is in

    Lines are part of the court, see Law 1.3 (http://bit.ly/dMYAWZ, also given below)

    1.3 All the lines shall form part of the area which they define.

    In singles, the receiver court is diagonally opposite the server, and is bound by the following four lines:
    • the short service line from the centre to the inside tramline,
    • the centre line from the centre to the baseline,
    • the baseline from the centre to the inside tramline, and
    • the inside tram-line from the short service line to the baseline.


    In doubles, the lines are:
    • the short service line from the centre to the outside tramline (full width of that half-court),
    • the centre line from the centre to the inside baseline (long service line),
    • the inside baseline from the centre to the outside tramline,
    • the outside tramline from the short service line to the long service line.


    Also see the court schematic on page 5 for more details.

    Shuttle landing within these boundaries, including the lines, will be in.

Similar Threads

  1. how to hold the shuttle when serving
    By pcll99 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 4
    : 01-18-2012, 03:33 AM
  2. When serving, can you stand on the middle line without going out of the border?
    By nightin9ale in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 9
    : 12-07-2011, 08:49 PM
  3. Serving question (pushing the shuttle)
    By Cattex in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 8
    : 03-25-2011, 02:31 PM
  4. What can you do with the shuttle when serving..?
    By mhigham in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 12
    : 10-30-2008, 11:23 PM
  5. where is the shuttle facing while serving?
    By amenzza in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 8
    : 02-23-2008, 06:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •