Loss of Form....

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Pete G, Mar 5, 2003.

1. Pete G

Pete G Regular Member

Electronics Broker
    Hi guys,
    As someone new to this site, I thought I'd ask for a little advice......
    I have been playing league badminton for the past three years both mixed and mens for two decent standard clubs and have been getting into the teams easily and winning things! All was going well until recently when I have found that I have been suffering from a lack of form/performance. Pairs I used to beat easily I am now struggling against, it's not fitness as I play up to 4 nights a week and spend hours in the gym as well as road running - I have never been fitter.....maybe I play to much? - I was a pro soccer player when younger and always played at a reasonable level right up until my retirement last season (aged 36) and I can't remember this happening at all in football??? - I'm not injured (apart from a minor golfer's elbow problem) so it's not that - I have a match tonite and don't feel confident.....my men's doubles partner is an England vet and I hate letting him down (although we won the men's american league last night) - ANY IDEAS? - Should I take time out? My mental attitude and commitment still seem OK....but can't quite put my finger on my apparant performance not being what it was of late - I know it will come back/improve but it's very frustrating as I know I can play much better......
    HELP!

2. Matt Ross

Matt Ross Regular Member

Student
    Pete,