Results 1 to 7 of 7
Thread: double hits...
10-22-2010, 07:15 PM #1
this is a question about if/how you can see a double hit in a particular case.
the circumstance I am talking about is where the shuttle appears to change direction twice when opponent strikes shuttle. Once is obviously normal, but on these occasions it appears that the cork has been hit again, or the feathers have been hit such that the flight of the shuttle seems to change after the initial hit. The second hit, in these cases, happens very quickly after the first.
my question is, is this a genuine double hit (ie a fault), or is it just optical illusion caused by feathers being hit after the cork (and therefore legal)?
I know it is hard to clearly define without a movie clip, but hopefully you know what I am on about.
Last edited by amleto; 10-22-2010 at 07:26 PM.
10-22-2010, 08:33 PM #2
as long as it is one smooth stroke, it is still legal
10-22-2010, 09:23 PM #3
Wouldn't it constitute sort-of holding the bird on the racquet bed? Oh here is something I found from the Handbook.
It shall be a ‘fault’:
13.3 if in play, the shuttle:
13.3.7 is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;
13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a ‘fault’;
10-23-2010, 06:41 AM #4
I'm familiar with rules. what I don't know is, what is happening when I see this - Is it a double hit on the cork? Or is it just a very heavy hit on the feathers after the cork. One is legal, one is not.
10-23-2010, 10:23 AM #5
I've been trying to imagine what it would take to manage a double-hit on the cork, but I still cannot come up with a viable scenario. For my money, any "double-touch" would be cork + feathers.
10-23-2010, 11:34 AM #6
I thought of a way of better describing what I see - it looks a bit like the shuttle tumbles, but from what would normally be a clear or drive shot. As these are normally short impact time with shuttle, it looks very strange and dubious.
10-24-2010, 10:29 AM #7
in my own opinoion , as long as no double hit on the cork.
because i always hit the cork and the feather quite often. haha
By Horisonten in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 8: 01-08-2012, 12:43 PM
By kimdongmoon in forum Badminton Tournament Video SharingReplies: 0: 05-30-2011, 10:42 PM
By pralinescream in forum Asian Games 2010 - BadmintonReplies: 45: 12-01-2010, 04:08 AM
By Tomsk in forum Jonas Rasmussen ForumReplies: 10: 05-12-2003, 02:13 PM
By Quan in forum General ForumReplies: 11: 04-02-2001, 09:18 AM