User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: double hits...

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default double hits...

    this is a question about if/how you can see a double hit in a particular case.

    the circumstance I am talking about is where the shuttle appears to change direction twice when opponent strikes shuttle. Once is obviously normal, but on these occasions it appears that the cork has been hit again, or the feathers have been hit such that the flight of the shuttle seems to change after the initial hit. The second hit, in these cases, happens very quickly after the first.

    my question is, is this a genuine double hit (ie a fault), or is it just optical illusion caused by feathers being hit after the cork (and therefore legal)?

    I know it is hard to clearly define without a movie clip, but hopefully you know what I am on about.
    Last edited by amleto; 10-22-2010 at 06:26 PM.

  2. #2
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,382
    Mentioned
    105 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    as long as it is one smooth stroke, it is still legal

  3. #3
    Moderator cobalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arrakis
    Posts
    8,668
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wouldn't it constitute sort-of holding the bird on the racquet bed? Oh here is something I found from the Handbook.

    It shall be a ‘fault’:

    13.3 if in play, the shuttle:

    13.3.7 is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;
    13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a ‘fault’;


  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm familiar with rules. what I don't know is, what is happening when I see this - Is it a double hit on the cork? Or is it just a very heavy hit on the feathers after the cork. One is legal, one is not.

  5. #5
    Moderator cobalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arrakis
    Posts
    8,668
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've been trying to imagine what it would take to manage a double-hit on the cork, but I still cannot come up with a viable scenario. For my money, any "double-touch" would be cork + feathers.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I thought of a way of better describing what I see - it looks a bit like the shuttle tumbles, but from what would normally be a clear or drive shot. As these are normally short impact time with shuttle, it looks very strange and dubious.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Singapore , Tampines
    Posts
    790
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    in my own opinoion , as long as no double hit on the cork.

    because i always hit the cork and the feather quite often. haha

Similar Threads

  1. Where do you look when opponent hits?
    By Horisonten in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 8
    : 01-08-2012, 11:43 AM
  2. [Request] Badminton matches mixed double, women's double and men's double in VCD
    By kimdongmoon in forum Badminton Tournament Video Sharing
    Replies: 0
    : 05-30-2011, 09:42 PM
  3. congrats kido/hendrawan OG/AG double double gold medalist
    By pralinescream in forum Asian Games 2010 - Badminton
    Replies: 45
    : 12-01-2010, 03:08 AM
  4. 2 hits, 1 stroke = fault? (again!)
    By Tomsk in forum Jonas Rasmussen Forum
    Replies: 10
    : 05-12-2003, 01:13 PM
  5. If the serve hits the net.....
    By Quan in forum General Forum
    Replies: 11
    : 04-02-2001, 08:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •