Racquet recommendation for petite lady

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by bf109, Mar 13, 2003.

1. bf109

bf109 New Member

Hi,

I and my wife would like to get into this sport and I need racquet recommendations.
    FYI, I used to play badminton about 11 years ago and now I decide to get back to this sport. I'm an amateur player who plays offensively while my wife only plays for recreation.

Here are some physical info.:

myself: 5'10" 155lbs with big hands (what grip size?); play offensively. I also
    play tennis, using 4-5/8 grip size racquet.

my wife: 5' 2" 100-110lbs (I'm not sure.) with petite hands (what grip size, please?)
    She is a recreational player who occasionally plays tennis with me, using
    4-1/8 grip size racquet. She has weak arms so she prefers lighter racquet
    I guess.

Would you recommend a few racquets for us, respectively? We are in the U.S. and our price range is between $50- $80 for each racquet.

BTW. I ever posted a thread regarding the pricing on MP 99 and MP 77 in this forum. But that thread was moved to "market place" later. Anyhow, I did receive some good information on choices of racquet from "LazyBuddy" and a few other. Thanks.

2. hypnoweb

hypnoweb Regular Member

Designer
    Similar Situation

I myself was in a similar situation. I was back into Badminton from an 8 yr absence and only had an old Carlton metal racquet, great 10 yrs ago, but heavy now. I did a ton of research and asked a lot of people here which only led to too much choice and more frustration. Eventually I spoke with David at www.sportsnetonline.net who reccommended a Gosen Roots 2400. I've played a few games since I got it and there was great improvement. Plus, I got it for a great price!

E-mail David at: jumpsmash@aol.com for advice, tell him Darren The British guy sent you.

Al the best,

Darren at: www.thebrits.com

3. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer