Tomorrow...

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by flipinese_azn, Mar 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flipinese_azn

flipinese_azn Regular Member

none
    Tomorrow is my first mixed game in our city tournament, i have a slight problem...my partner and I have only been working together for about a month or even less...and we have not yet established a good technique or form, we both are intermediate players and I am a player that is an all around player who runs for every shot whether or not i get it or not...(its worth a try) i have lots of stamina that i have been working on for the past 3 months...my partner on the other hand is a good player, her problem is that she is the kind of person that is a pilon on the court and tends to stand there and occasionally run for it if its close enough...now we all know the other team will pick on that fault...and she always tends to be in the back because of fear in the front due to smashes...i need some suggestions or help...thanks!:)

2. Joseph

Joseph Regular Member

You can try making pretty good shots so that your opposition doesnt get a chance to smash. You may also want to try to keep her in the front regardless of her fear. And to watch where you hit the bird so she knows if you clear or not so she can get ready to side-side. Then when all is fine, continue to be on the offensive and play front-back...im a lower intermediate player so my advice isnt much of any help.

3. Yodums

Yodums Regular Member

Well, tell her to push the girl to the back if she can and to her backhand if possible and then take advantage of any poor backhand net shots. Your partner shouldn't be afraid of smashes because you should be side by side when the bird is up right.

If the girl is recieving serve, serve it high to push her to the back and force her to pop it up or do a net shot.

4. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker