User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 33
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default In what circumstance can the player touch the net?

    I have seen a few videos on YouTube where the player flicks the net whilst trying to lift the shuttle, although in this video it isn't a lift (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00EO-cBr6CU @ 5:22, this video doesn't have the best angle and there is a possibility that, in this case, the shuttle flicked the net, but I can't remember which matches has an obvious example that supports my question)
    The rules say it's a fault if the player "13.4.1 touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress;" so right now I'm extremely confused
    Can someone help me clear this up?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,985
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The circumstances when you can hit the net with the racket are just a little further down in the rules, Section 15. You are forgiven for striking the net only if the shuttle is not really in play:


    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
    15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or
    15.3 a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ has occurred.

  3. #3
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,814
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow It's a fault if a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress

    Quote Originally Posted by idontknow017 View Post
    I have seen a few videos on YouTube where the player flicks the net whilst trying to lift the shuttle, although in this video it isn't a lift (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00EO-cBr6CU @ 5:22, this video doesn't have the best angle and there is a possibility that, in this case, the shuttle flicked the net, but I can't remember which matches has an obvious example that supports my question)
    The rules say it's a fault if the player "13.4.1 touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress;" so right now I'm extremely confused
    Can someone help me clear this up?
    Thanks
    .
    It means exactly that. It is a fault (if during a rally) if a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress.

    Click on this link;
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/foru...GM-15-May-2010)

    and read Post #32 onwards.
    .

  4. #4
    Regular Member pBmMalaysia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,735
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    to answer the threat starter question,

    the only answer i could come up is,

    you can touch the net or any part of it

    before the umpire say 'play' or announce the score

  5. #5
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,814
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow A rally starts from the first swing of the racket to serve

    Quote Originally Posted by pBmMalaysia View Post
    to answer the threat starter question,

    the only answer i could come up is,

    you can touch the net or any part of it

    before the umpire say 'play' or announce the score
    .
    You are only thinking about a tournament match where there is an umpire.

    However, a rally starts from the first swing of the racket to serve, not when the umpire says 'play'.
    .

  6. #6
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,814
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow I think idontknow017 is really confused

    .
    BTW, I have found idontknow017 in the thread that I have given;

    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/foru...GM-15-May-2010)

    So, I think idontknow017 is really confused.
    .

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris-ccc View Post
    .
    BTW, I have found idontknow017 in the thread that I have given;

    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/foru...GM-15-May-2010)

    So, I think idontknow017 is really confused.
    .
    You think? :O
    So I guess I'll just avoid hitting the net then

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by idontknow017 View Post
    I have seen a few videos on YouTube where the player flicks the net whilst trying to lift the shuttle, although in this video it isn't a lift (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00EO-cBr6CU @ 5:22, this video doesn't have the best angle and there is a possibility that, in this case, the shuttle flicked the net, but I can't remember which matches has an obvious example that supports my question)
    The rules say it's a fault if the player "13.4.1 touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress;" so right now I'm extremely confused
    This example isn't clear enough to tell. You can see the net moving after the shot, so something hit the net, but it's not possible to be sure whether it was the racket or the shuttle. If it was the racket, then the umpire should have called a fault. If the shuttle, no fault.

    Can you find a better example to show us?

  9. #9
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    36,128
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    you cannot touch the net during the rally. the only thing that is allowed to touch the net is the shuttlecock!

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alexh View Post
    This example isn't clear enough to tell. You can see the net moving after the shot, so something hit the net, but it's not possible to be sure whether it was the racket or the shuttle. If it was the racket, then the umpire should have called a fault. If the shuttle, no fault.

    Can you find a better example to show us?
    I shall post when I come across one.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cal Central
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by idontknow017 View Post
    I have seen a few videos on YouTube ... and there is a possibility that, in this case, the shuttle flicked the net, but I can't remember which matches has an obvious example that supports my question)
    The rules say it's a fault if the player "13.4.1 touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress;" ...
    Can someone help me clear this up?
    Thanks
    There is no prohibition of not touching the net. You may. It only becomes a fault when the umpire sees it during active play.

    During a rally, whenever a player touches the net and the umpire sees this activity, you can be assured a fault will be called.

    There are times when a player can touching the net without incurring the wrath of the law, as in:

    • shaking hands with the opponent, or officials
    • when passing the shuttle to the other side after a rally
    • to adjust a bump in the net tape
    • during shadow-play after missing a close kill

    Just remember, not to hammer the racket on the tape or the net, in frustration, anger, or even as a demonstration of "So I cannot touch it like this" kind. Such actions are not taken lightly by people in high places.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 2wheels04 View Post
    There is no prohibition of not touching the net. You may. It only becomes a fault when the umpire sees it during active play.
    !!!

    There's nothing wrong with breaking the rules. It's only wrong if you break the rules and get caught.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cal Central
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alexh View Post
    This example isn't clear enough to tell. You can see the net moving after the shot, so something hit the net, but it's not possible to be sure whether it was the racket or the shuttle. <snip>
    Even on court, during live action play, the net will move (or sway) when a player with a whip-lash action of racket lifts, flicks, or drives. As noted, sometimes the shuttle also brushes or hit the net before going to the other side of the net. Most lifts and flicks from anywhere between the service line and net will be result in net movement.

    Remember, as a player, you are taught to look at the shuttle until it hits the racket. The official does something very similar - they look at the racket until it hits the net. The umpire indeed has the best seat on court to observe the racket hitting the net during play.

    The other good perspective is net-tape cam and the over-head cam; they have to be high res and with super slo-mo capability to pick such a hit. The whip action (flick) is very high speed.
    Last edited by 2wheels04; 01-04-2011 at 10:23 AM.

  14. #14
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,814
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow It's just a simple rule

    Quote Originally Posted by 2wheels04 View Post
    Even on court, during live action play, the net will move (or sway) when a player with a whip-lash action of racket lifts, flicks, or drives. As noted, sometimes the shuttle also brushes or hit the net before going to the other side of the net. Most lifts and flicks from anywhere between the service line and net will be result in net movement.

    Remember, as a player, you are taught to look at the shuttle until it hits the racket. The official does something very similar - they look at the racket until it hits the net. The umpire indeed has the best seat on court to observe the racket hitting the net during play.

    The other good perspective is net-tape cam and the over-head cam; they have to be high res and with super slo-mo capability to pick such a hit. The whip action (flick) is very high speed.
    .
    Don't know what/where you are leading us to... It's just a simple rule like what I have posted (in Post #3);

    Quote Originally Posted by chris-ccc View Post
    It is a fault (if during a rally) if a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress.
    .
    Last edited by chris-ccc; 01-04-2011 at 10:39 AM.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,206
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fidget View Post
    The circumstances when you can hit the net with the racket are just a little further down in the rules, Section 15. You are forgiven for striking the net only if the shuttle is not really in play:


    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
    15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or
    15.3 a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ has occurred.
    Wa! this is good stuff. 15.1 answered a question I have had for a long time for a match Zhang/Zhao vs Tao/Tien in Japan Open 2010 on Sept 30...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cR4trHVN6U

    the umpire's call at time 3:25 to 5:00 (of the youtube video) in retrospect was the right call and the correct application of rule 15.1
    Last edited by pcll99; 02-06-2011 at 11:05 AM.

  16. #16
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    12,456
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    Wa! this is good stuff. 15.1 answered a question I have had for a long time for a match Zhang/Zhao vs Tao/Tien in Japan Open 2010 on Sept 30...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cR4trHVN6U

    the umpire's call at time 3:25 to 5:00 (of the youtube video) in retrospect was the right call and the correct application of rule 15.1
    To me the more important phrase is "on the striker's side" not "starts" as it emphasized that the shuttle has not crossed over the net.

    Indeed the umpire must be very alert on this point of touching the net with the racket. It is a matter of which event comes first. Whether your racket touches the net after a fault is called or before it.

    Example:

    You hit a hard smash near the net. Your opponent cannot return the shuttle which crashes to the ground. The umpire calls "fault" against the receiver. Then your racket hits the net after the fault is called. It comes later.

    Who will lose the point - you or your opponent? (See Fidget's post above)
    Last edited by Loh; 02-06-2011 at 12:09 PM.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,206
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loh View Post
    To me the more important phrase is "on the striker's side" not "starts" as it emphasized that the shuttle has not crossed over the net.

    Indeed the umpire must be very alert on this point of touching the net with the racket. It is a matter of which event comes first. Whether your racket touches the net after a fault is called or before it.

    Example:

    You hit a hard smash near the net. Your opponent cannot return the shuttle which crashes to the ground. The umpire calls "fault" against the receiver. Then your racket hits the net after the fault is called. It comes later.

    Who will lose the point - you or your opponent? (See Fidget's post above)
    This discussion is very very interesting....

    So there are three events here:

    Event No.1: the birdie strikes the net
    Event No.2: the receiver touches the net
    Event No.3: the birdie starts to fall.

    In most cases, Event No. 2 will occur either before Event No. 1 or after Event no. 3....

    But what if Event No. 2 occur in between. What should be the correct call???

    See the youtube video again!! from 3:25 to 5:00..

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cR4trHVN6U

    When do you think Event No.2 occur???

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Do Karakal Duo Pu Touch Expired?
    By kristian in forum Grip
    Replies: 3
    : 04-29-2009, 11:41 AM
  2. Eagnas Touch Plus
    By derekcai in forum Badminton String
    Replies: 0
    : 10-31-2008, 01:24 PM
  3. touch up paint
    By chowzer in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 11
    : 05-28-2007, 05:54 AM
  4. Soon Kit – man with the Midas touch
    By ants in forum Commonwealth Games 2006 Badminton
    Replies: 1
    : 04-29-2006, 02:44 AM
  5. touch play
    By Dan in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 5
    : 11-12-2001, 05:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •