Results 1 to 17 of 33
12-18-2010, 08:37 AM #1
In what circumstance can the player touch the net?
I have seen a few videos on YouTube where the player flicks the net whilst trying to lift the shuttle, although in this video it isn't a lift (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00EO-cBr6CU @ 5:22, this video doesn't have the best angle and there is a possibility that, in this case, the shuttle flicked the net, but I can't remember which matches has an obvious example that supports my question)
The rules say it's a fault if the player "13.4.1 touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress;" so right now I'm extremely confused
Can someone help me clear this up?
12-18-2010, 09:56 AM #2
The circumstances when you can hit the net with the racket are just a little further down in the rules, Section 15. You are forgiven for striking the net only if the shuttle is not really in play:
15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY A shuttle is not in play when:
15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or
15.3 a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ has occurred.
12-18-2010, 09:59 AM #3
It's a fault if a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress
It means exactly that. It is a fault (if during a rally) if a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress.
Click on this link;
and read Post #32 onwards.
12-18-2010, 10:16 AM #4
to answer the threat starter question,
the only answer i could come up is,
you can touch the net or any part of it
before the umpire say 'play' or announce the score
12-18-2010, 11:04 AM #5
12-18-2010, 11:11 AM #6
I think idontknow017 is really confused
BTW, I have found idontknow017 in the thread that I have given;
So, I think idontknow017 is really confused.
12-18-2010, 06:13 PM #7
12-18-2010, 07:01 PM #8
Can you find a better example to show us?
12-18-2010, 07:18 PM #9
you cannot touch the net during the rally. the only thing that is allowed to touch the net is the shuttlecock!
12-19-2010, 12:41 AM #10
01-04-2011, 05:09 AM #11
During a rally, whenever a player touches the net and the umpire sees this activity, you can be assured a fault will be called.
There are times when a player can touching the net without incurring the wrath of the law, as in:
- shaking hands with the opponent, or officials
- when passing the shuttle to the other side after a rally
- to adjust a bump in the net tape
- during shadow-play after missing a close kill
Just remember, not to hammer the racket on the tape or the net, in frustration, anger, or even as a demonstration of "So I cannot touch it like this" kind. Such actions are not taken lightly by people in high places.
01-04-2011, 05:32 AM #12
01-04-2011, 09:21 AM #13
Remember, as a player, you are taught to look at the shuttle until it hits the racket. The official does something very similar - they look at the racket until it hits the net. The umpire indeed has the best seat on court to observe the racket hitting the net during play.
The other good perspective is net-tape cam and the over-head cam; they have to be high res and with super slo-mo capability to pick such a hit. The whip action (flick) is very high speed.
Last edited by 2wheels04; 01-04-2011 at 09:23 AM.
01-04-2011, 09:34 AM #14
02-06-2011, 10:01 AM #15
the umpire's call at time 3:25 to 5:00 (of the youtube video) in retrospect was the right call and the correct application of rule 15.1
Last edited by pcll99; 02-06-2011 at 10:05 AM.
02-06-2011, 10:57 AM #16
Indeed the umpire must be very alert on this point of touching the net with the racket. It is a matter of which event comes first. Whether your racket touches the net after a fault is called or before it.
You hit a hard smash near the net. Your opponent cannot return the shuttle which crashes to the ground. The umpire calls "fault" against the receiver. Then your racket hits the net after the fault is called. It comes later.
Who will lose the point - you or your opponent? (See Fidget's post above)
Last edited by Loh; 02-06-2011 at 11:09 AM.
02-06-2011, 08:49 PM #17
So there are three events here:
Event No.1: the birdie strikes the net
Event No.2: the receiver touches the net
Event No.3: the birdie starts to fall.
In most cases, Event No. 2 will occur either before Event No. 1 or after Event no. 3....
But what if Event No. 2 occur in between. What should be the correct call???
See the youtube video again!! from 3:25 to 5:00..
When do you think Event No.2 occur???
By kristian in forum GripReplies: 3: 04-29-2009, 10:41 AM
By derekcai in forum Badminton StringReplies: 0: 10-31-2008, 12:24 PM
By chowzer in forum Badminton Rackets / EquipmentReplies: 11: 05-28-2007, 04:54 AM
By ants in forum Commonwealth Games 2006 BadmintonReplies: 1: 04-29-2006, 01:44 AM
By Dan in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 5: 11-12-2001, 04:06 AM