User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 18 to 33 of 33
  1. #18
    Regular Member pBmMalaysia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loh View Post
    To me the more important phrase is "on the striker's side" not "starts" as it emphasized that the shuttle has not crossed over the net.

    Indeed the umpire must be very alert on this point of touching the net with the racket. It is a matter of which event comes first. Whether your racket touches the net after a fault is called or before it.

    Example:

    You hit a hard smash near the net. Your opponent cannot return the shuttle which crashes to the ground. The umpire calls "fault" against the receiver. Then your racket hits the net after the fault is called. It comes later.

    Who will lose the point - you or your opponent? (See Fidget's post above)
    I lost the point because when I tapped the shuttle,

    I sent the umpire in his chair flying over to the next court

  2. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,216
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loh View Post
    To me the more important phrase is "on the striker's side" not "starts" as it emphasized that the shuttle has not crossed over the net.

    Indeed the umpire must be very alert on this point of touching the net with the racket. It is a matter of which event comes first. Whether your racket touches the net after a fault is called or before it.

    Example:

    You hit a hard smash near the net. Your opponent cannot return the shuttle which crashes to the ground. The umpire calls "fault" against the receiver. Then your racket hits the net after the fault is called. It comes later.

    Who will lose the point - you or your opponent? (See Fidget's post above)
    As for your example, here goes.

    At the moment the birdie touches the ground, then according the 15.2, the game is no longer "in play". Therefore whether the receiver touches the net is irrelevant and 13.4.1 has no application. 13.4.1 says "it shall be a fault if, in play, a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress." In conclusion, since the striker touches the net after the birdie touches the ground, the strike wins the point.

    Btw, I do not think the timing of the umpire's call is relevant either. It is what the players and the shutters do which are relevant.
    Last edited by pcll99; 02-06-2011 at 10:14 PM.

  3. #20
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,139
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^^

    yes that is correct

    and quite often we don't have umpires sitting by the side to help us during recreational club play

    so the players have to know the rules and laws

  4. #21
    Regular Member pBmMalaysia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    As for your example, here goes.

    At the moment the birdie touches the ground, then according the 15.2, the game is no longer "in play". Therefore whether the receiver touches the net is irrelevant and 13.4.1 has no application. 13.4.1 says "it shall be a fault if, in play, a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress." In conclusion, since the striker touches the net after the birdie touches the ground, the strike wins the point.

    Btw, I do not think the timing of the umpire's call is relevant either. It is what the players and the shutters do which are relevant.
    By right, umpire has to say out loud 'fault', in this case when the bird touches the ground,

    just in case other thing happens almost at the same time

    Here is a real case, player tries to tap and instead of sending shuttle down he sent it straight to the baseline

    Hence the umpire shouted fault after his racket touches the net cord.

    Here, to the umpire he saw the racket head touches the net cord

    before he turn his head to see what happens to the shuttle...

    Naturally of course

  5. #22
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,216
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pBmMalaysia View Post
    By right, umpire has to say out loud 'fault', in this case when the bird touches the ground,

    just in case other thing happens almost at the same time
    this is getting more and more interesting...

    Does the umpire has a obligation to call out loud a fault?? Or is it simply a right, not an obligation?

    Also should the umpire says whose fault?? Like during servicing... I notice this is the only time when umpire would call out loud a "receiver's fault call" or "service fault call"
    Last edited by pcll99; 02-06-2011 at 10:40 PM.

  6. #23
    Regular Member pBmMalaysia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    this is getting more and more interesting...

    Does the umpire has a obligation to call out loud a fault?? Or is it simply a right, not an obligation?

    Also should the umpire says whose fault?? Like during servicing... I notice this is the only time when umpire would call out loud a "receiver's fault call" or "service fault call"
    An obligation I am sure

    Well, certainly it's you having the fault if he is looking at you

  7. #24
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    12,462
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    this is getting more and more interesting...

    Does the umpire has a obligation to call out loud a fault?? Or is it simply a right, not an obligation?

    Also should the umpire says whose fault?? Like during servicing... I notice this is the only time when umpire would call out loud a "receiver's fault call" or "service fault call"
    Law 17.6

    17.6 An umpire shall:

    17.6.1 uphold and enforce the Laws of Badminton and, especially, call a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ should either occur;

    17.6.2 give a decision on any appeal regarding a point of dispute, if made before the next service is delivered;

    17.6.3 ensure players and spectators are kept informed of the progress of the match;

    17.6.4 appoint or replace line judges or a service judge in consultation with the Referee;

    17.6.5 where another technical official is not appointed, arrange for that official’s duties to be carried out;

    17.6.6 where an appointed official is unsighted, carry out that official’s duties or play a ‘let’;

    17.6.7 record and report to the Referee all matters relating to Law 16; and

    17.6.8 refer to the Referee all unsatisfied appeals on questions of law only. (Such appeals must be made before the next service is delivered or, if at the end of the match, before the side that appeals has left the court.)

    Law 16 refers to "CONTINUOUS PLAY, MISCONDUCT & PENALTIES"

    That is why I said the sequence of events is important to the umpire. Which event comes first? The shuttle touches the ground or body of the receiver first or the contact with the racket or with the body of the striker? The umpire must call "FAULT" when it occurs so that the next fault that comes after e.g.hitting the net, will not count.

    During service it is the Service Judge who has to call out "FAULT" and in the absence of one, the umpire will do it.

  8. #25
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,216
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks... this discussion is very useful...

    17.6.8 is something I didn't know before..... appeal on question of law only!!!!

  9. #26
    Regular Member pBmMalaysia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So be careful if you engage yourself with mr.loh in badminton,

    you may get away with the fact but not the law...

  10. #27
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    12,462
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pBmMalaysia View Post
    So be careful if you engage yourself with mr.loh in badminton,

    you may get away with the fact but not the law...
    Wah I don't want to be chased out of the umpire's chair and booed "Referee Kayu"!

  11. #28
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Viet Nam
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Please help me out with my net kill, my racket often touches the net (so it is a fault, right ?), especially backhand net kill !

  12. #29
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,817
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow During a rally, the net cannot be touched at all

    Quote Originally Posted by kingofpain View Post
    Please help me out with my net kill, my racket often touches the net (so it is a fault, right ?), especially backhand net kill !
    .
    During a rally (before the shuttlecock touches the floor, in or out), the net cannot be touched at all.
    .

  13. #30
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,139
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kingofpain View Post
    Please help me out with my net kill, my racket often touches the net (so it is a fault, right ?), especially backhand net kill !
    If the shuttle is too close to the net, the only way to put the bird down without touching the net is to brush across the bird.

  14. #31
    Regular Member Naim.F.C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    778
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Is it also a fault if your racket goes over the net? I.e on to the side of the opponent, if even by a few inches?

  15. #32
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,139
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Naim.F.C View Post
    Is it also a fault if your racket goes over the net? I.e on to the side of the opponent, if even by a few inches?
    iirc allowed only on follow thru after hitting the bird on your side, but not before

    Fault if:
    13.4.2 invades an opponent's court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker's side of the net;
    Last edited by visor; 04-28-2011 at 08:02 PM.

  16. #33
    Regular Member Naim.F.C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    778
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    iirc allowed only on follow thru after hitting the bird on your side, but not before
    Thanks for clearing that up!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Do Karakal Duo Pu Touch Expired?
    By kristian in forum Grip
    Replies: 3
    : 04-29-2009, 11:41 AM
  2. Eagnas Touch Plus
    By derekcai in forum Badminton String
    Replies: 0
    : 10-31-2008, 01:24 PM
  3. touch up paint
    By chowzer in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 11
    : 05-28-2007, 05:54 AM
  4. Soon Kit man with the Midas touch
    By ants in forum Commonwealth Games 2006 Badminton
    Replies: 1
    : 04-29-2006, 02:44 AM
  5. touch play
    By Dan in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 5
    : 11-12-2001, 05:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •