fake rackets

Discussion in 'Identify Fake Racket (Price/Source/Serial/Photos a' started by bogey, Mar 22, 2003.

1. bogey

bogey Regular Member

I'm a newbie in this site so bear with me. Of course I tried the search button first. I used to play badminton several years back but got hooked on bowling for the last 3 years. Anyway, my friends started playing so I decided join them. Now, I want to replace my old Carbonex racket. The thing is I don't want to get a Yonex anymore cause I purhcased a fake one in the past ( my friend told me, and it cracked almost a week after) and I wouldn't know the difference. I"m just wondering if other companies like Carlton,Prince, Wilson etc, also have fake ones. So I can get one of those instead.Thanks

2. Yodums

Yodums Regular Member

What do you think your skill level is at? I'm assuming you're in Asia since you're getting fakes. I think you just got a fake because you didn't realize there was fakes. Some fakes are noticeably different (IE, bad paint job, bad logo clone etc).

Until we know your skill level, we can't really suggest anything! :p

Yodums

3. AMRaider

AMRaider Regular Member

I'm sorry you got a fake. If you live in the USA, chances of getting a fake Yonex are usually pretty small I have heard. If you don't trust the shop, you can always go to www.yonex.com and use their search engine to find a certified yonex dealer. If the dealer doesn't have the racquet you want in stock, they can usually order one directly from Yonex USA.
    If you really don't want a Yonex for whatever reason, I recommend Carlton although they seem to be more prone to breaking. I tried my friends Carlton in high school and it was a little more head heavy than my Cab20 Power and I could get great smashes out of it (although his Carlton did break after a year and a half!). If you want to order online I recommend San Diego Badminton Supply http://www.badminton.net/~iyang/cgi-bin/cart.cgi/index.html.