Help with racket choice, string and string tension! Please!! :L

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by harrymcd, Dec 28, 2010.

1. harrymcd

harrymcd New Member

Student
    Hi guys sorry if this has been covered before but im kinda new to all this :L

Ive been looking for a racket for a while and ive got an idea of what i want but im not sure what strings to get or what tension to have the strings at.

i mostly play doubles, and usually play quite attacking, smashing frequently but i also like to play with lots of control around the net.

after looking at reviews and in various badminton shops, i thought that the carlton air rage tour might suit me quite well, i dont know if you have any other ideas, im not looking to spend anymore than about £85 though.

also ive seen that the nbg98 is quite popular but as i dont play that often, or at a hugely high standard i dont want to be restringing very often, but i still dont want to lose too much performance.

any ideas would be greatly appreciated thanks guys :L

2. Yoppy

Yoppy Regular Member

Hei harrymcd,

welcome to BC, hope you will enjoy and visit here often.

Let me get straight down to the point. As you know, each racket and string (type or tension) have different feel (if you wish). In choosing a racket, IMO there are 4 categories to consider:
    1. Stiffness (shaft and frame)
    2. BP (balance point): Head heavy, balance or head light
    3. Overall weight and grip size
    4. Design and technology