intercepting training for double?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Aphelion-, Jan 8, 2011.

Tags:
  1. Aphelion-

Aphelion- Regular Member

i have been playing double these few day, and i notice that when i am the net man, my intercepting ability really suck.Do anyone have any routie or drills that can improve my intercepting ability?

2. chris-ccc

chris-ccc Regular Member

Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    i notice that when i am the net man, my intercepting ability really suck

As a coach, I notice the most common error for a player at the net is not holding the racket head higher than net height.

Develop a habit of raising your racket head up when at the forecourt, and you will find a vast improvement in your intercepting ability.
    :):):)

3. visor

visor Regular Member

What chris-ccc said,
    and stay on your toes,
    and also grip up higher to the cone, to get faster response.

4. Aphelion-

Aphelion- Regular Member

thanks for the advie chris and visor, i will try this out and see what i can do

5. Line & Length

Line & Length Regular Member

2 other things spring to mind:

1: You may be too far forward to get behind the shuttle properly. From your post, I'm presuming that you're refering to doubles and that the shuttle has just been lifted to your partner. I.e. you're expecting a smash and are looking to pounce on any weak returns. In my humble opinion the base for the non-recieving player should be about a racket-length behind the service line. If your partner does a drop, you have time to take a step forward.

2: A useful drill, which can be used during warm-up. Your partner and you stand about a racket-length behind the service line, either side of the net. Tap the shuttle flat to one another. Try and push the shuttle 'through' your partner. If you're really good at it, do with 2 shuttles simultaneously! I have found that this improves reflexes & can also get you in the mood for fast-paced doubles.

Good luck!