Results 1 to 17 of 18
02-06-2011, 10:31 AM #1
in service, the shuttle is hit by the receiverís partner
"It shall be a Ďfaultí:
13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);
13.2 if, in service, the shuttle:
13.2.1 is caught on the net and remains suspended on its top;
13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net; or
13.2.3 is hit by the receiverís partner;"
So according to 13.2.3, whose fault is it? the receiving or servicing party?
02-06-2011, 12:05 PM #2
It is the receiving part that has the fault and the point goes to the serving part.
02-06-2011, 04:18 PM #3
That's an interesting point. The rules don't at any point say whose fault it is, just "it shall be a fault..."--we still need to use common sense to decide which side loses the point!
02-06-2011, 04:21 PM #4
also it is also a fault on the receiving side if the shuttle while during service hits the receiving partner's body
this happened in the danish open md final 2-3? yrs ago with kkk/tbh vs. mogensen/boe when tbh's serve hit mogensen in the abd, but the umpire made the wrong call and called it a let!
Last edited by visor; 02-06-2011 at 04:24 PM.
02-06-2011, 04:32 PM #5
Yes, I agree that it's obvious. But often the rules spell out obvious things just to avoid any arguments. So I'm surprised that they left this one out.
02-06-2011, 08:36 PM #6
what if the servicing party deliberately try to serve it on the receiver's partner???
02-06-2011, 09:06 PM #7
Heheh you could try! It'll be up to the other side to get out of the way.
02-06-2011, 09:57 PM #8
02-07-2011, 04:24 AM #9
02-07-2011, 07:41 AM #10
Somebody served and hit me, I wasn't recieving at the time and they tried to claim the point.
I had just passed them the shuttle back and was walking to my position when they served, so I wasn't even facing the net at the time. They were actually serious about them winning the point too.
02-07-2011, 08:00 AM #11
02-07-2011, 10:09 AM #12
02-07-2011, 11:20 AM #13
02-07-2011, 04:12 PM #14
This happened to me too, and what I did these, it happened to be flick serves. It gotten to the point where if I knew this person was going to do that, I just jumped smashed instantly at the server and possibly hitting the player - sort of teach them a lesson for doing something like that.
02-08-2011, 06:34 AM #15
thanks.... the rule says this
"It shall be a ‘fault’ if, in service, the shuttle is hit by the receiver’s partner;"
if the server deliberately try to serve the shuttle on the receiver's partner, then it is the shuttle which hit the receiver's partner, not the other way around. The shuttle is not hit by the receiver's partner. Rather it is the receiver's partner who is hit by the shuttle... isn't that right???
02-08-2011, 06:57 AM #16
After a Service is performed, the shuttlecock can only be played by the Receiver
To clear us out of this confusion, we can summarised it as;
After a Service (the first shot of a rally) is performed, the shuttlecock can only be played by the 'Receiver of the Service'.
Therefore, if the shuttlecock hits the partner of the 'Receiver of the Service', a fault would be called against the receiving side.
The partner of the 'Receiver of the Service' should make sure that he/she does not play and/or be touched by the shuttlecock (before or at the second shot of a rally).
Also, if the body of any player touching the shuttlecock once a rally has begun, that player would be faulted.
Last edited by chris-ccc; 02-08-2011 at 07:11 AM.
02-08-2011, 08:09 AM #17
Very well summarized! :thumbsup:
By rtc35 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 4: 07-25-2010, 08:29 AM
By abedeng in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 69: 02-18-2010, 07:48 PM
By rkmenon97 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 13: 11-17-2009, 06:32 AM
By Capnx in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 22: 07-09-2009, 10:32 AM
By unregistered in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 10: 09-23-2003, 12:29 PM