User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 18
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,251
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default in service, the shuttle is hit by the receiverís partner

    13.1
    "It shall be a Ďfaultí:
    13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);
    13.2 if, in service, the shuttle:
    13.2.1 is caught on the net and remains suspended on its top;
    13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net; or
    13.2.3 is hit by the receiverís partner;"

    So according to 13.2.3, whose fault is it? the receiving or servicing party?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is the receiving part that has the fault and the point goes to the serving part.

    /Krysser

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That's an interesting point. The rules don't at any point say whose fault it is, just "it shall be a fault..."--we still need to use common sense to decide which side loses the point!

  4. #4
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,246
    Mentioned
    139 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alexh View Post
    That's an interesting point. The rules don't at any point say whose fault it is, just "it shall be a fault..."--we still need to use common sense to decide which side loses the point!
    i think it's quite obvious who is at fault

    also it is also a fault on the receiving side if the shuttle while during service hits the receiving partner's body

    this happened in the danish open md final 2-3? yrs ago with kkk/tbh vs. mogensen/boe when tbh's serve hit mogensen in the abd, but the umpire made the wrong call and called it a let!
    Last edited by visor; 02-06-2011 at 05:24 PM.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, I agree that it's obvious. But often the rules spell out obvious things just to avoid any arguments. So I'm surprised that they left this one out.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,251
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    what if the servicing party deliberately try to serve it on the receiver's partner???

  7. #7
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,246
    Mentioned
    139 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Heheh you could try! It'll be up to the other side to get out of the way.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    what if the servicing party deliberately try to serve it on the receiver's partner???
    I guess you could try it but about the only time it might work is in mixed where the lady stands right at the front beside the man during his return of service.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    what if the servicing party deliberately try to serve it on the receiver's partner???
    I know someone who does this. He has a few other "dirty tricks" too. He's not very popular ;-)

  10. #10
    Regular Member Andy05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Stockton-on-Tees, UK
    Posts
    476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Somebody served and hit me, I wasn't recieving at the time and they tried to claim the point.
    I had just passed them the shuttle back and was walking to my position when they served, so I wasn't even facing the net at the time. They were actually serious about them winning the point too.

  11. #11
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,844
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs down They were actually serious about them winning the point too

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy05 View Post
    Somebody served and hit me, I wasn't recieving at the time and they tried to claim the point.
    I had just passed them the shuttle back and was walking to my position when they served, so I wasn't even facing the net at the time. They were actually serious about them winning the point too.
    .
    My suggestion: Don't play with them anymore; if they are only interested to win and not to follow our Laws of Badminton.
    .

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy05 View Post
    Somebody served and hit me, I wasn't recieving at the time and they tried to claim the point.
    I had just passed them the shuttle back and was walking to my position when they served, so I wasn't even facing the net at the time. They were actually serious about them winning the point too.
    11.2 Once the players have taken their positions, the first forward movement of the server's racket is the start of the service.

  13. #13
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,246
    Mentioned
    139 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy05 View Post
    Somebody served and hit me, I wasn't recieving at the time and they tried to claim the point.
    I had just passed them the shuttle back and was walking to my position when they served, so I wasn't even facing the net at the time. They were actually serious about them winning the point too.
    They were correct on the first point, but the second, they were just being stupid.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Richmond, BC
    Posts
    5,209
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy05 View Post
    Somebody served and hit me, I wasn't recieving at the time and they tried to claim the point.
    I had just passed them the shuttle back and was walking to my position when they served, so I wasn't even facing the net at the time. They were actually serious about them winning the point too.
    Lol! Doesnít count. I have seen some players do that (they are not good either) and do this and if that happens then do not hit it. Make them repeat the serve until they serve it properly when you are area. If they do that you can do it too but just exaggerate it to demonstrate their own medicine lol! j/k

    This happened to me too, and what I did these, it happened to be flick serves. It gotten to the point where if I knew this person was going to do that, I just jumped smashed instantly at the server and possibly hitting the player - sort of teach them a lesson for doing something like that.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,251
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks.... the rule says this

    "It shall be a ‘fault’ if, in service, the shuttle is hit by the receiver’s partner;"

    if the server deliberately try to serve the shuttle on the receiver's partner, then it is the shuttle which hit the receiver's partner, not the other way around. The shuttle is not hit by the receiver's partner. Rather it is the receiver's partner who is hit by the shuttle... isn't that right???

  16. #16
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,844
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow After a Service is performed, the shuttlecock can only be played by the Receiver

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    thanks.... the rule says this

    "It shall be a ‘fault’ if, in service, the shuttle is hit by the receiver’s partner;"

    if the server deliberately try to serve the shuttle on the receiver's partner, then it is the shuttle which hit the receiver's partner, not the other way around. The shuttle is not hit by the receiver's partner. Rather it is the receiver's partner who is hit by the shuttle... isn't that right???
    .
    To clear us out of this confusion, we can summarised it as;

    After a Service (the first shot of a rally) is performed, the shuttlecock can only be played by the 'Receiver of the Service'.

    Therefore, if the shuttlecock hits the partner of the 'Receiver of the Service', a fault would be called against the receiving side.

    The partner of the 'Receiver of the Service' should make sure that he/she does not play and/or be touched by the shuttlecock (before or at the second shot of a rally).

    Also, if the body of any player touching the shuttlecock once a rally has begun, that player would be faulted.
    .
    Last edited by chris-ccc; 02-08-2011 at 08:11 AM.

  17. #17
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,246
    Mentioned
    139 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^^
    Very well summarized! :thumbsup:

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Striking the shuttle outside the court boundaries on service
    By rtc35 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 4
    : 07-25-2010, 09:29 AM
  2. Shuttle Striking A Non-Receiving Doubles Player During Service
    By abedeng in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 69
    : 02-18-2010, 08:48 PM
  3. shuttle falls on receiver
    By rkmenon97 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 13
    : 11-17-2009, 07:32 AM
  4. partner blocks service return
    By Capnx in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 22
    : 07-09-2009, 11:32 AM
  5. QUESTION: If my partner misses the shuttle during service ,can i take it for him??
    By unregistered in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 10
    : 09-23-2003, 01:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •