HOW DO YOU ATTACK A DRIVE?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by LowBrain, Mar 18, 2001.

1. LowBrain

LowBrain Guest

Help! I am relatively new to this sport. Only played badminton for 6 mouths so my skill are still lacking in all departments. I need help with my singles games...I am playing this guy whose a great tennis/squash player and he plays badminton likewise. He drives a lot...In most badminton coaching book, the drive is a shoot usually reserve for doubles but I am really hard to deal with his drives...my question is:

HOW DO YOU ATTACK A DRIVE? from midcourt and from the rear court.

Do drive just back? Because that's what I have been trying to do but he always wins in the end.

2. Don

Don Regular Member

drive and drop... you can lift and make him smash back, but that's for a little more experienced player...

3. olli

olli Regular Member

medicine
    northern germany, in beautiful but rainy hamburg
    Hi LowBrain,

mostley I drive back, cause I've practised it much and in the end I win (yeah, I'm the best ;-)),.But I'm very confused if my opponent suddenly plays a short ball after some drives.Also I'm in trouble ,if he's playing a clear as I try to move foward (to attack), like in a double.I think it's a good solution for you to play a long and high or a short ball.If you play short ,he's forced to play upwards so he can't attack.Look where he's standing, try to play out of his reach,hehe,think you've already tried it..But if you always lose when you drive back, then don't do it.Another Tip:let you show how to play drive by someone who does it well and practise-don't tell this guy- don't try to drive back as long as you're sure you'll last.Just let him have a surprise and he won't know how to react!

from Germany

Master of drive

--olli

4. shaun

shaun Regular Member

Theatre boy!!