Results 1 to 17 of 35
Thread: another serving query...
02-16-2011, 05:01 PM #1
another serving query...
I am quite a 'fast' server. By this I mean that there is very little pause between me addressing the shuttle, and me starting my serve.
Some club members get used to this and anticipate my timing of serve. When I notice this I add a deliberate pause whilst addressing the shuttle - nothing extravagent, 4-6 seconds. During this pause, the reciver will often step/leap forward trying to attack my serve that hasn't started yet.
Now, as far as I can understand it, this isn't a fault because I haven't started my serve.
1) Is this correct?
2) If I notice them 'charging' my serve before I have started any serve action, can I start my serve action to bring about a (receiver) fault?
looking forward to your opinions and explanations.
02-16-2011, 05:13 PM #2
have you swing your racket and then stop
or you did not swing the racket at all during the service?
02-17-2011, 02:38 AM #3
02-17-2011, 02:42 AM #4
imo, holding the shuttle and racket in the ready position (i'm interpreting this as addressing the shuttle) for more than 3 secs is too long
02-17-2011, 03:49 AM #5
02-17-2011, 04:03 AM #6
there is no way 3 secs can be too long from any of the rules.
I think the exact phrase from whatever rule is 'undue delay'.
9.1.1 neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the server and the receiver are ready for the service. On completion of the backward movement of server's racket head, any delay in the start of the service (Law 9.2), shall be considered to be an undue delay;
anyway, back on topic - does someone moving in anticipation of a serve before it has even started count as a fault?
If I'm quick enough, does starting the serve whilst they are in motion induce a receiver fault?
Last edited by amleto; 02-17-2011 at 04:08 AM.
02-17-2011, 04:27 AM #7
02-17-2011, 04:42 AM #8
6 secs is too long, your opponents will not like your mind games if you're playing social/club games
and if you're in tournament competition, the umpire will warn you of undue delay
02-17-2011, 06:36 AM #9
(2) The receiver is not allowed to move before the shuttlecock is hit (during Service)
9.1.3 some part of both feet of the server and the receiver shall remain in contact with the surface of the court in a stationary position from the start of the service (Law 9.2) until the service is delivered (Law 9.3);
9.2 Once the players are ready for the service, the first forward movement of the server's racket head shall be the start of the service.
Last edited by amleto; 02-17-2011 at 06:43 AM.
02-17-2011, 09:27 AM #10
02-17-2011, 09:53 AM #11
Based on that I would say there is no fault from either side, maybe the server would even get faulted as the receiver is clearly not ready if he's in motion....
02-17-2011, 11:04 AM #12
In this case described by amleto I'd say if the reciever has taken position and let the hand fall that means "ready" state is declared and any movement of feet before serve is delivered (and started) is a fault. If recieving position hasn't been taken it is a fault to serve, but the reciever may also be warned (if umpired) for undue delay of play.
Now the question is if the "pause" between "presenting" and "starting" made by amleto is to be considered a fault too? Less than 6s I wouldn't care (probably take 3-4s myself), but over 10s is definitly not ok IMO.
that's my 0.02 SEK / mats
02-17-2011, 11:07 AM #13
Agreed but as with many of the rules they aren't as detailed as they could be, mostly because many of the rules require some judgment by the umpire. This is true with the rules of most sports though.
02-17-2011, 11:26 AM #14
The server can't be faulted for serving when receiver not ready, only a let may be called.
Last edited by amleto; 02-17-2011 at 11:29 AM.
02-17-2011, 01:54 PM #15
Your 1-2 secs addressing the shuttle is not fast at all. Fast would be practically less than 0.5 secs or almost instantaneous, ie the shuttle is hit the moment it is brought into the ready position.
02-17-2011, 02:37 PM #16
02-17-2011, 04:15 PM #17
The server can't be faulted for serving when receiver not ready
If I were the umpire, and;
(1) When your receiver is not ready and you serve, I would call it a 'Let'.
(2) When you serve again before your receiver is ready, I would call it a 'Fault' and show you a Yellow card.
(3) When you serve again before your receiver is ready, I would show you a Red card and announce "Game and Match Over".
Perhaps I am a strict umpire, but I would not allow your 'Gamesmanship' to gain control over your receiver.
Last edited by chris-ccc; 02-17-2011 at 04:18 PM.
By ronslasher94 in forum Racket Recommendation / ComparisonReplies: 0: 01-21-2012, 12:49 PM
By lilyaks in forum Badminton Rackets / EquipmentReplies: 32: 04-22-2010, 08:26 PM
By hrhkingcol in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 10: 07-06-2009, 06:15 PM
By dogpile in forum Badminton Rackets / EquipmentReplies: 3: 12-16-2005, 11:30 PM
By samohtom in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 6: 03-31-2004, 05:10 PM