Weird experience when switching rackets! Advice needed

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by zeozeo, Feb 25, 2011.

1. zeozeo

zeozeo Regular Member

Hi, I'm a beginner-intermediate player who just switched rackets:

I used to use the Apacs Nano Power 9900 with Stern 9 string strung at 23/25. I switched to the Apacs Lethal 70 with BG 65 string strung at 24/26.

The Lethal 70 seemed great during the first week or so but after that my observation was that although my shuttle control has improved slightly, I can no longer backhand from one end of the court to another and the strength of my smashes has decreased. Why is this happening?

BTW: I also have the Apacs Tantrum 300 strung with BG 65 at 24/26. With this racket, I have improved control but I didn't feel that my backhand and smashing power were affected as significantly.

I play with both feather and plastic shuttles, but only use plastic when I'm playing unseriously. Mainly it's the feather shuttles where I seem to have less power.

Please give me some advice! Should I change the string/tension on one of my rackets and which string should I use? Or should I just stick with the Apacs 9900 Nano Power? Maybe you have another racket recommendation for me?

2. bazzaman

bazzaman Regular Member

IT
    try a thinner string like BG80 at 23/24 lbs (not with plastics though) the extra repulsion will help your backhand

3. Blitzzards

Blitzzards Regular Member

The main reason you don't feel the same playing with these three racquets is because each one of them is a different racquet!