Equipment advice for a serious beginner.

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Suptilitas, Mar 1, 2011.

1. Suptilitas

Suptilitas New Member

Hi everyone,

I am completely new to the world of badminton as far as taking it seriously goes.

I have in all honesty only played badminton about 20 times in my life, but I have a natural talent for racquet sports (I play a lot of tennis and table tennis and I'm very good at them), therefore I'm pretty good for a newbie.

I now want to start taking up the sport seriously. So I thought I'd start with equipment first.

Here are a few pointers on what my preferences are, bear in mind I don't really know which is best!

- I like a hard, smooth grip
    - I care about durability if the racquet costs a lot, other than that it's all about performance for me
    - I don't sweat profusely, more just a normal amount as I'm quite fit
    - I would be playing quite often so I would want to take it seriously
    - I'd say I like to be an all round player, I prefer singles in badminton, so lots of smashing and net play
    - I think I'd prefer if the strings were relatively hard, I do tend to be a bit heavy handed when playing normal shots/smashing, but my strokes feel more confident with a heavier strong contact
    - I have played mostly with plastic shuttlecocks and have thus got used to them, I tend to play much worse with feather for some reason...
    - I am willing to pay for my first proper racquet no more than �50 (I live in the UK)

If I was to explain my type of play in a few sentences it would be: very enthusiastic, I will try to go for even the most impossible looking shots, even if it means falling over lol. I don't tend to go much for placement, left or right, I concentrate more on getting it high and far or low and close to the net in order to not give the player an easy middle shot.