Counterfeit Yonex Strings

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by teknix1, Mar 8, 2011.

1. teknix1

teknix1 Regular Member

Hi all,
    I'm fairly new to stringing, got my first stringing machine last christmas. To practice with it, I decided to buy some cheap strings off of eBay, from a seller named "Blackeye-pro". So I bought a 10 pack of Yonex BG65-Ti for like 30$, and started stringing with that. The first string I managed to play with lasted me about 3-4 hours of play. Thought I had done something wrong as my previous attempts resulted in warped rackets (you can search my other threads on here about that). The next couple strings didn't last me more than a half hour of play. I started having doubts about these strings. After reading reviews of the seller, I discovered he was selling counterfeit strings. By that time I had already gone through more than half of my 10 pack. Didn't bother me too much, I figured I'd practice stringing with them anyways. It just gave me more opportunities to restring my racket. As of today (8th of March 2011, I just checked), this seller is no longer a registered user on eBay, thank god!

I tried contacting Yonex Canada about where to buy strings or how to detect counterfeit strings. Unfortunately I didn't get an answer from them. But after doing some reasearch online I decided to buy a 10 pack of BG65-Ti from "My Badminton Store", everybody says thy're safe and they sell real Yonex products. I recently got those strings and got to play with them. So far so good, I only got a few hours of play off of my first set but it hasn't snapped yet and it's already better then the fake ones that usually lasted me only 30 minutes.

I still own two packages and a few bits of string from of the fake ones, I thought I'd make a comparison and put this online in the hopes of saving other people's time and money and so they won't be deceived like I was.