Seeking expertise on tournament info/experience

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by prophet, Apr 10, 2003.

1. prophet

prophet Regular Member

teacher
    I'm new to this sport and I've never played in any tournaments. Wondering for those of you who have, can you give me some of your expertise?

For the last couple of local tournaments that I've seen (in the bay area), they usually have flights or levels from A to D. I'm confused by the level distinction.

For other sports tournaments (i.e. bball, volleyball, softball) that I've participated in, the last level (D) is usually reserved for beginners, but I've heard that this isn't necessarily true for badminton.

For example, someone who I know is an excellent player (i.e. won junior titles when he was younger) said he would compete in "D" flight singles and "C" flight doubles if he would have entered the tournament.

Now in the bay area, the last tournament was called the Bay Area Open, and I've heard that this is one of the bigger tournaments around, so I guess I understand a lot of people entered and could have pushed the tournament levels outwards. But I'm wondering what about for some smaller local tournaments?

For example, the davis tournament:

http://www.badmintonforum.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9184&highlight=davis

What do you see as a "D" flight player? I'm asking, since I'm a beginner and I don't want to get pasted in a tournament; its no fun for me or for my opponent.

Give me some ideas on how strong and how weak a "D" player (or doubles team) should be: i.e. smashes inconsistently, weak backhand or is he/she really a good club player(s) who competes at "D" in tournaments.

any information will help! thanks.

2. txyu

txyu Regular Member

Manager Fitness Facility
    For most "open" tournaments, there are A,B,C,D flights and more depending upon the size of the draws.

I'll use an ABC draw for this example.