User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 19
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Melaka
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default pls explain how it works

    In doubles,i'm still confused about who's serving after wining or losing the scoreplease help!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    vancouver,BC
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Service is given to the side that wins a point.
    So if I or my partner loses a point then the other side gets to serve. But if we score a point then my side gets to serve.
    The person who serves depend whether the point is even or odd.
    If the point is an even number(ex.0,2,4,6...) then the person on the right of the serving side serves.
    Now, if the score is an odd number(ex.1,3,5,7..) then the person on the left of the serving side serves.

    Example if you just got a point and your score is 2 then the person on the right of YOUR side serves. However if they just scored a point and their score is now 2 then the person on the right of THEIR side serves.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Gicutzu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Romanian in Austria
    Posts
    1,389
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The more confusing question is who is supposed to receive the serve.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Melaka
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    why do i see people changing places to serve? like left go to right to serve etc.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Gicutzu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Romanian in Austria
    Posts
    1,389
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by icecoldcoke View Post
    why do i see people changing places to serve? like left go to right to serve etc.
    Because it doesn't have anything to do with where you're standing, it has to do with who has served last or something like that.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Just a quick summery of movement for service and receiving.

    At the start of the match you choose a side (left or right). You stay on that side for both serving and receiving until your team wins the point ON YOUR OWN SERVE. If you win a point on their serve you do not move. Service is made based on the score. Even = right, Odd = left.

    Any questions?

  7. #7
    Regular Member Gicutzu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Romanian in Austria
    Posts
    1,389
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Let's say I just served and we lost the point. Then the opponents serve and they lose the point.

    Next up to serve would be my partner, right?

    Other than that, it was a good and concise explanation.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, because your point just went from odd to even or even to odd with the 1 point you just got.... (That was the last thing I wrote) and since you didn't win a point on your own serve you won't have rotated.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Gicutzu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Romanian in Austria
    Posts
    1,389
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by druss View Post
    Yes, because your point just went from odd to even or even to odd with the 1 point you just got.... (That was the last thing I wrote) and since you didn't win a point on your own serve you won't have rotated.
    Yeah, you're right, I got it now. Thanks a heap!

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Melaka
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ok i think i understand a little already..
    question:if i'm on the right, i serve and win the first score(1-0) should i move to the left and serve or give my partner to serve?
    2.so if my partner serve and lose the score itz my turn to serve if we win right?

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by icecoldcoke View Post
    ok i think i understand a little already..
    question:if i'm on the right, i serve and win the first score(1-0) should i move to the left and serve or give my partner to serve?
    You move left and serve again. As stated "You stay on that side for both serving and receiving until your team wins the point ON YOUR OWN SERVE." Maybe I should have been more clear there. When you win a point, whoever was serving keeps serving until you lose a point and just keeps alternating the sides he serves from.

    Quote Originally Posted by icecoldcoke View Post
    2.so if my partner serve and lose the score itz my turn to serve if we win right?
    Yes... an example. Your partner serves from the right side and the score is 2-2, you lose the point and now it's 2-3 and they serve from the left court (odd = left), now you win the point and the score is 3-3 so now you serve from the LEFT SIDE since that's the side you've always been on.

    So to add on to what I had before....

    At the start of the match you choose a side (left or right). You stay on that side for both serving and receiving until your team wins the point ON YOUR OWN SERVE. If the server wins a point, that team rotates (the receiving team does not) and the server will continue to serve (and rotate) until they lose the point (they then stay in the last position he served from until you win a point on your own serve again). If you win a point on their serve you do not move. Service is made based on the score. Even = right, Odd = left.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Melaka
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks! sorry for confusing u..

  13. #13
    Regular Member khmaiboi92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    85
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i was wondering, my teacher at my school says that both partner gets a chance at serving before you give the birdie to the other team. What she said confused me. Can someone clarify for me?

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by khmaiboi92 View Post
    i was wondering, my teacher at my school says that both partner gets a chance at serving before you give the birdie to the other team. What she said confused me. Can someone clarify for me?
    If you are still playing by the old 15 point system then yes, that's true. IBF switched this years back to a 21 point rally point system in order to speed up games.

    Now you only serve once per side and all rally's are worth a point.

    Just as a note, in the 15 point system you could only score a point on your own serve and the team to serve first only got 1 serve.

    http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/
    Last edited by druss; 03-19-2011 at 01:37 AM.

  15. #15
    Regular Member khmaiboi92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    85
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by druss View Post
    If you are still playing by the old 15 point system then yes, that's true. IBF switched this years back to a 21 point rally point system in order to speed up games.

    Now you only serve once per side and all rally's are worth a point.

    Just as a note, in the 15 point system you could only score a point on your own serve and the team to serve first only got 1 serve.

    http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/
    Oh, I see now. So my teacher is teaching us the old rules :|

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you play to 15 and what you say about the serve is tru then yes.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I did this to help our club members when we switched.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Why do pros only works on their one arm?
    By Strohatace in forum General Forum
    Replies: 11
    : 03-29-2010, 12:06 AM
  2. This works for me, let me know what you think!
    By branchini1979 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 10
    : 11-10-2008, 10:24 PM
  3. my 'works-of-art'!!
    By Anatolii in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 174
    : 03-08-2008, 12:47 AM
  4. How Yonex's warranty works
    By yy_ling in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 12
    : 12-05-2006, 03:50 AM
  5. bg70 pro works well on mp100?
    By yoyomonkey in forum Badminton String
    Replies: 5
    : 07-30-2006, 05:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •