User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Regular Member Cattex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    58
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Serving question (pushing the shuttle)

    I've never really had any complaints about my serve. Once or twice in my 4 years of playing someone has pointed out I need to watch my waist line but nothing major.

    But last week someone who I've played with for ages was sitting out watching a mens doubles I was in. She complained, from the sidelines, that my serve was illegal because I pushed the shuttle at one point rather than hitting it.

    It's hard to explain. Essentially I normally drop the shuttle in front of the racket head a fraction of a second before contact - there is a distinct hit - or obvious gap where the shuttle is neither in my hand nor on the string bed.

    However occasionally the racket kind of pushes the shuttle over the net - the shuttle is still out of my hand at point of contact between shuttle and string bed though.

    I guess it's most dependent upon racket head speed. If I draw the rack head back a further distance there is more of a hit motion but if I don't draw it back far it's more of a push.

    She claimed this was illegal. She's confused me because no one has ever said this to me about my serve before. I guess she was claiming I was 'scooping' it or something...

    Anyone enlighten me at all?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Western Hemisphere
    Posts
    893
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If "scooping", then she may be referring to "13.3.7 is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;". Then it is a fault. "Pushing" itself should not be a problem.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Cattex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    58
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedShuttle View Post
    If "scooping", then she may be referring to "13.3.7 is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;". Then it is a fault. "Pushing" itself should not be a problem.
    Thanks for the actual wording of the scoop fault RedShuttle.

    I'm definitely not doing that

    If someone questions my conduct I don't get angry or defensive I just get really embarrassed and concerned that I've done something wrong!

  4. #4
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,609
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    i've often wondered about this too, as fu haifeng also seems to serve like this, but some people say that he has practically no backswing and only appears to be pushing the shuttle when in fact he is hitting it over

  5. #5
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,242
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow Anyone enlighten me at all?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cattex View Post
    I've never really had any complaints about my serve. Once or twice in my 4 years of playing someone has pointed out I need to watch my waist line but nothing major.

    But last week someone who I've played with for ages was sitting out watching a mens doubles I was in. She complained, from the sidelines, that my serve was illegal because I pushed the shuttle at one point rather than hitting it.

    It's hard to explain. Essentially I normally drop the shuttle in front of the racket head a fraction of a second before contact - there is a distinct hit - or obvious gap where the shuttle is neither in my hand nor on the string bed.

    However occasionally the racket kind of pushes the shuttle over the net - the shuttle is still out of my hand at point of contact between shuttle and string bed though.

    I guess it's most dependent upon racket head speed. If I draw the rack head back a further distance there is more of a hit motion but if I don't draw it back far it's more of a push.

    She claimed this was illegal. She's confused me because no one has ever said this to me about my serve before. I guess she was claiming I was 'scooping' it or something...

    Anyone enlighten me at all?

    Thanks!
    .
    If we define A Push = A shot hit by a racket-head swung at constant velocity (without scooping/carrying the shuttlecock), then it is legal.

    You can enter in this discussion of a 'Push' in this thread located at;
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/foru...=1#post1492505
    .

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Posts
    197
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I agree with the advice given here. Continuous contact with the racket and/or string bed (scoops and slings) is a fault. A discrete 'hit' is perfectly legal, regardless of how slowly the racket is travelling.

    Indeed, minimal backswing is an advantage during serve because the opposition can't pre-judge the serve. Cattex, can you also flick-serve without significantly increasing backswing?

    Personally, I've always struggled with accuracy from too short a backswing. Cattex, how far in front of the racket do you hold/drop the shuttle from?

  7. #7
    Regular Member Cattex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    58
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris-ccc View Post
    .
    If we define A Push = A shot hit by a racket-head swung at constant velocity (without scooping/carrying the shuttlecock), then it is legal.

    You can enter in this discussion of a 'Push' in this thread located at;
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php/87849-Terms-used-when-we-talk-about-Badminton-Techniques-and-Training-(Strokes-Shots)?p=1492505&viewfull=1#post1492505
    .
    Thanks, very useful link
    Last edited by Cattex; 03-25-2011 at 02:27 PM. Reason: spelling! (believe it or not!)

  8. #8
    Regular Member Cattex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    58
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Line & Length View Post
    I agree with the advice given here. Continuous contact with the racket and/or string bed (scoops and slings) is a fault. A discrete 'hit' is perfectly legal, regardless of how slowly the racket is travelling.

    Indeed, minimal backswing is an advantage during serve because the opposition can't pre-judge the serve. Cattex, can you also flick-serve without significantly increasing backswing?

    Personally, I've always struggled with accuracy from too short a backswing. Cattex, how far in front of the racket do you hold/drop the shuttle from?
    My flick serve is a little hit and miss. I'm 184cm tall and so can get a good low angle (my bottom rib/waist is at ~116cm). However like you I have to increase my back swing to generate decent power. I can do a wicked flick serve down the T that lands just inside the service box but it's a little too hit and miss. When I execute it I win the point basically - but it goes a bit wild about half the time resulting in either going long, wide or into my opponents hitting zone.

    I find a short backswing gives a more accurate short serve but less power for flicks. What I need to work on is using the same back swing for both flicks and short serves which probably means practising getting a consistent swing speed for short serves and moving to a longer swing.

    I don't drop the shuttle that far in front on the racket - an inch or so - which can give me timing issues and lead to netted serves or serves that land short of the line. I also drop it from too low a height and sometimes actually hit my own hand! - this is when I don't concentrate enough.

    All this means that serves are actually pretty good when I am on it but they can fall apart a bit because I flirt too much with danger as it were.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I do this quite often too. Like everyone has already stated though, as long as it's not really slung from your racket, it's a legal serve. There is nothing in the rule books that say otherwise.

Similar Threads

  1. how to hold the shuttle when serving
    By pcll99 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 4
    : 01-18-2012, 03:33 AM
  2. Shuttle falling on the line while serving
    By Rajeshgsb in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 14
    : 12-10-2010, 05:01 AM
  3. What can you do with the shuttle when serving..?
    By mhigham in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 12
    : 10-30-2008, 11:23 PM
  4. where is the shuttle facing while serving?
    By amenzza in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 8
    : 02-23-2008, 06:41 PM
  5. Shuttle contact with racket during Serving
    By juris in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    : 08-09-2005, 09:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •