User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Thunder Bay, Canada
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Who makes the call on a possible double hit fault?

    Hi all,

    Quick question for all those that are up on the officiating of this sport.

    Who has the ability to call a double hit fault will playing? At the club in which I play, we have always been on honour and normally the team making the double hit will call it...done deal.

    I newer memebr of the club has taken it upon himself to call these double hits, even if he is on the otehr team and quite often making an incorrect call. I was playing with him (partners) the other evening and he called a double hit on the other team that even i was sure that it had occurred. But as it was called, we ended up reserving the point.

    So I guess my question is who has the responsibility to make this call? Is it anyones call to make?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    in social play it's normally the team making the fault that calls it when it's on their side of the court, at least that's how I've always played

  3. #3
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,241
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow It's usually the team making the double hit to admit the fault

    If without an umpire, it's usually the team making the double hit to admit the fault (and to be honest about it).

    The team on the other side of the court may question, but the confirmation should come from the players who committed the fault (especially if the shuttlecock was slightly touched the first time).
    .

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    243
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Without an umpire, the honour system is about the only way to go. It could end up with false accusations and arguments otherwise.

    Also a double hit by a single player using the head of their racquet with a single stroke is not a fault. (rule 13.3.8)

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Without an umpire, then it is the side that hit twice that calls the double hit.

    With an umpire, the umpire or the side that hit twice calls the double hit. If the opponent stops the play and calls a double hit and the umpire does not agree, then it is a fault on the opposition who claimed it. (If that made any sense)

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    manchester
    Posts
    159
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In my opinion anybody who clearly sees a double fault.
    If you cant agree, then call it a let and start again.
    Personally my judgement is clouded by an intensity to win, there are plenty others like me. The oppostion needs to be sharp. I try to be honest but find it hard with subtle situations. If there is an air of uncertaintity then my mind will lend itself to favouring me. If something is clearcut but nobody saw it and it favours the oppostion then this affect is neutralized and I will own up.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If it's not a tournament then the team gets the benefit of the doubt. Just like if a shuttle goes out but the team on that side didn't see it go out then it's considered in and the other team gets the point. The game is not just about winning, it's about sportsmanship and having fun, especially in social badminton.

    I find that those who are too anal about things end up with no playing partners after a time... Getting so worked up over social play defeats the point IMO. I go to have fun, get some exercise and win... in that order. I'm perfectly happy to play a very competitive game and lose as long as both teams are having fun. I would rather lose a hard fought, competitive game with good friends than win one against a team that's too anal.
    Last edited by druss; 03-30-2011 at 05:13 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by druss View Post
    If it's not a tournament then the team gets the benefit of the doubt. Just like if a shuttle goes out but the team on that side didn't see it go out then it's considered in and the other team gets the point. The game is not just about winning, it's about sportsmanship and having fun, especially in social badminton.

    I find that those who are too anal about things end up with no playing partners after a time... Getting so worked up over social play defeats the point IMO. I go to have fun, get some exercise and win... in that order. I'm perfectly happy to play a very competitive game and lose as long as both teams are having fun. I would rather lose a hard fought, competitive game with good friends than win one against a team that's too anal.
    I second that. In recreational play, when you can go all out, a lose/win doesn't really matter.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cal Central
    Posts
    148
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by masterblaster99 View Post
    Hi all,

    Quick question for all those that are up on the officiating of this sport.

    Who has the ability to call a double hit fault will playing? At the club in which I play, we have always been on honour and normally the team making the double hit will call it...done deal.

    I newer memebr of the club has taken it upon himself to call these double hits, even if he is on the otehr team and quite often making an incorrect call. I was playing with him (partners) the other evening and he called a double hit on the other team that even i was sure that it had occurred. But as it was called, we ended up reserving the point.
    Generally, during club-level games, players go with what the playing rules are set up. In your case, if the opposite team had also a newer member, and the newer member of your team called this, the seniors would act as arbitrators and inform the newies (if there is such a term), Well Chaps, this was (or was not) a double hit. Over here, we let the person call it. Since you (and you) did not know, we replay again. Or something on these lines. Remember also, that some newer and beginner players may not know what a double hit or carry is, and you may have to demonstrate this.

    Quote Originally Posted by masterblaster99 View Post
    So I guess my question is who has the responsibility to make this call? Is it anyones call to make?
    What is the general practice of your club members? Go with that and you cannot be much wrong. If the new comer makes a big deal about laws and stuff, have a quiet word with him/her after the game, or even on court, something on the above lines. In our club games, we do as you did (honour system), play let when someone new did not know. (Now calling the lines in our club games, now that is definitely not from the shot-maker who ended the rally, it is the side who let the shuttle drop on their court.)
    Last edited by 2wheels04; 05-08-2011 at 05:44 PM.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    12,518
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Please define what is a double hit.

    If you mean when the shuttle slides along the racquet but you have made only one stroke through that motion....

    13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a "fault";
    I would say the very polite people of UK and North America have been faulting themselves unnecessarily!

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Posts
    213
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheung View Post
    Please define what is a double hit.

    If you mean when the shuttle slides along the racquet but you have made only one stroke through that motion....


    I would say the very polite people of UK and North America have been faulting themselves unnecessarily!
    Indeed, this is true when talking about if a hit/stroke is to be considered correct or not. I have started to use this interpretation, but sometimes it isn't that easy to apply, still open for debate.....was it correct according to the rules or was there a "scoop"?

    But as I understand it the OP is asking about the situation when (double/mixed) there is a possible touch from one player but the other actually makes the hit. Most of the time this is when the player at the net tries to intercept but misses (or did s(he) touch?) and the player behind makes the shot. Or when the opponets makes a fast drive at the netplayer who can't intercept and tries to avoid the shuttle, relying on the player behind to take it. One particular situation might be when there is an attack on the short serve and the receiver pushes at the (body of) server who tries to block but misses (or touched?) and the partner saves the shuttle.

    If it is obvious to everyone that the shuttle was touched twice (loud touching noise and/or change of direction) then I think anyone can make the call. Otherwise I rely on the integrity of myself/ my partner and the opponents to volontarily make the call.

  12. #12
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,241
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow 2 types of "Double Hit" faults (adopted by the BWF May 2010)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheung View Post
    Please define what is a double hit.

    If you mean when the shuttle slides along the racquet but you have made only one stroke through that motion....

    I would say the very polite people of UK and North America have been faulting themselves unnecessarily!
    .
    So, for players who are unsure about the "Double Hit" faults, here are the 2 types of "Double Hit" faults, as mentioned in the Laws of 13.3.8 and 13.3.9 (adopted by the BWF May 2010), namely;

    A "Double Hit" fault is one which;

    13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a "fault";

    13.3.9 is hit by a player and the player's partner successively
    .

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    HDB
    Posts
    67
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, latest Laws of Badminton have stated clearly on this "Double Hit" fault
    1. if it is friendly match, normally side which made the fault will admit it while the opponent could stop the rally and make enquiry. If there is one side mis-hear the 'double hit' sound or the side not admitting to it, we would normally play a let. That is for my groups here. Cos, when the game is so intense, we might misguided unconsiously :-)
    2. if one is playing in the club, i would suggest he/she just follow that particular club's norm. First, one might try to observe how others are playing and learn from them.
    3. if umpire is officiation the match there are few possibilities:
    a. side that made the fault admit to it and stop the rally.
    b. umpire heard the 'double hit' sound and called 'FAULT'. both side will stop the play and umpire will either award point to the opponent or call service over to the opponent. Before umpire calls it or one side admitting to it, the shuttle is still in play. The other opponent should not stop all of sudden and make enquiry. Else, they will lose a point. Sometimes, if the tournament is too noisy with all the cheerings and/or fault happens at the other corner, away from umpire and he/she did not hear the sound, then that is 'too bad'. No FAULTs would called upon and the shuttle is still in play.

Similar Threads

  1. Can an umpire call service fault?
    By Andrew in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 09-07-2012, 10:40 PM
  2. [Request] Badminton matches mixed double, women's double and men's double in VCD
    By kimdongmoon in forum Badminton Tournament Video Sharing
    Replies: 0
    : 05-30-2011, 09:42 PM
  3. congrats kido/hendrawan OG/AG double double gold medalist
    By pralinescream in forum Asian Games 2010 - Badminton
    Replies: 45
    : 12-01-2010, 03:08 AM
  4. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
  5. Fault or Not ?
    By ftook in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 16
    : 04-21-2008, 08:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •