Question regarding my stringing technique (Twisting strings)

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by hybridragon, Apr 13, 2011.

1. hybridragon

hybridragon Regular Member

Student
    Hi, I'm a frequent lurker around these forums as they have been a great source of information regarding all things badminton. I haven't found much substantial information regarding my question yet so forgive me if this has been answered already.

On my background, I have been stringing for roughly two years (a bit on and off). I can say I've strung roughly 20-30 rackets (mainly for myself; a few side jobs for friends). I mainly use a drop-weight machine and a two piece method. I mainly work with BG65, BG80, and BG85 strings. I usually string less than 25lbs (24x26.5), and a pre-weave ahead on crosses. (sometimes up to 8 strings ahead) I pre-stretch with BG65s, but not so much with BG80s or BG85s. I use the awl very sparingly (as little as possible). I usually take a careful and slow approach to making sure I do things correctly, so I don't usually rush any job I do. (For myself or friends)

Onto the problem at hand: I read on some of the past threads that pre-weaving causes twisting of the string on the crosses, yet I see people commonly pre-weave a few strings ahead to save time and pain when dealing with weaving and threading through holes. My questions are:

What is the optimal number of strings to pre-weave ahead to avoid heavy twisting on the cross? I'm aware now that pre-weaving ahead too much might cause twisting near the end when stringing a cross.

Is there anything in particular to avoid or notice to avoid this twisting of the strings? Any particular advice or techniques?

Any input or advice about this twisting problem (or even about my stringing technique) would be great. Thank you!

2. tenchi

tenchi Regular Member

I always pre-weave my rackets.