racket recommendation (already own a head, and prince racket)

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by silverworm, Apr 16, 2011.

1. silverworm

silverworm New Member

hi all,

i write this with great hesitation since many would have asked for racket recommendations but i thought, heck! why not give it a try since any advise would be very much appreciated, and of course to help me save some cash and time from having to try a varied selection of rackets available in the market.

i'm more of a doubles player and on occasions in single games. i am not sure how you would qualify a beginner or intermediate, but let's just assume i'm in the middle, assuming i have improved since i started playing badminton 2 years ago. so anyway, i currently own two rackets, and these are my opinions on the rackets.

1. Prince, Black Pearl XP: light head, has good front court control and speed. smashes definitely aren't as quick, furthermore it cannot sustain a series of smashes nor strokes ie. speed of smash drops after 2nd smash at the back court.

2. Head, Nano Pro 909: slightly head heavy. as expected, smashes go down faster than the prince racket, but doesn't have the front court control, nor speed required in a doubles match. my most used racket. i compensate the lack of front court maneuverability of the racket with technique and stamina instead; which tires me out unnecessarily.

ok, what i essentially am looking for in a new racket is something that is fast at the near court and at defense, and at the same time balanced to slightly head heavy. essentially, it would a racket that thrives at the near court and at defense, but performs on the smashes also. price is of course a factor here and i am not willing to spend more than $150 SGD on a racket, but this is not the main factor since money can be earned back and not so a good game of badminton.

now that you've read this lengthy post, go on and offer your advise! it would be much appreciated! :D

2. silverworm