Yonex NBG98 vs BG66 Ultimax?

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by RSLvictorSOTX, Apr 19, 2011.

1. RSLvictorSOTX

RSLvictorSOTX Regular Member

I have been using NBG 98 for a few months now and I liked it a lot. Recently, with lots of people claiming BG66 UM's playing properties...I kind of wonder what is the biggest variance in playability? Except for a slightly thinner gauge that is pretty obvious. Many thanks in advance.

2. WoOZY

WoOZY Regular Member

Personally I like the NBG98 more than the BG66UM... It depends on on your play style I think... I prefer the NBG98 for the feel... Much harder than the BG66UM...

As a aggressive player, the NBG98 is perfect for me!

3. cycilver

cycilver Regular Member

Student
    haha i find the opposite to be true. for me i find nbg98 to be very soft and spongy, very repulsive though. the bg66um on initial testing has a much harder feeling. both strung at 25lbs. but this my personal opinion and i dont mean to disrespect woozy :p

4. RSLvictorSOTX

Oh my, so I guess I just have to try for myself.

I normally string most of my racquets at 28/30 either with NBG98, BG66 or BG68TI; never tried BG66UM but I am really interested. However, somehow got put-off by my experience with BG66 because it breaks easy--same deal with BG66UM or is it much much tougher?

Meanwhile, I've strung my Arc ZS with BG68 Ti at 26/28 and still think it has a much harder feel than my SiW35 at 28/30.

Thanks.

5. WoOZY

WoOZY Regular Member

Well I'm a noob in stringing... So maybe I messed up the string job on BG66UM.... I will try them again...

6. RSLvictorSOTX

Sorry, I meant: I've strung my Arc ZS with BG68 Ti at 26/28 and still think it has a much harder feel than my SiW35 with NBG98 at 28/30 (plainly referring to stringbed and of course string feel.).

7. Petah

Petah Regular Member