User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Serving??????

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Serving??????

    I am a begginer at badminton and was hoping there may be someone who can help me clear up a couple of rules on serving and receiving serves in a singles game

    How many serves are you allowed to play? do you get a second serve like tennis? if the shuttlecock touches the net is that a let?

    Also when receiving a serve are you allowed past your service line to smash a shot close to the net? or do you have to stay within your box?

    Would be great if someone could help clear up these rules for me

  2. #2
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    1. no second serve.
    2. no let when the shuttle touches the net. the rally continues after the shuttle touch the net
    3. after the server contacts the shuttle, the receiver can go anywhere.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nor Cal
    Posts
    704
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Kwun was a little general when talking about the net. Basically that means that if the server serves the shuttle and the shuttle hits the net cord but STILL lands in the service box, it's considered a legal serve even though the serve hit the net cord

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for your help

  5. #5
    Regular Member Naim.F.C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    778
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tactim View Post
    Kwun was a little general when talking about the net. Basically that means that if the server serves the shuttle and the shuttle hits the net cord but STILL lands in the service box, it's considered a legal serve even though the serve hit the net cord
    Wow, and I always thought that was a let and that the server had to re-serve lol.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nor Cal
    Posts
    704
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Guess we all learn something new every day =p. It's different compared to tennis because if the serve hits the net cord but lands in the service box, they reserve their 1st or 2nd serve.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Rndzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ey guys. kindly clarify for me...

    Serving... the intended or the legal court place for a service... for singles and for doubles...
    when i play there im very confused to where are the legal place should the shuttle drops...

    pls help

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,793
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    why not make your own thread?

    short and wide for doubles, thin and long for singles

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cal Central
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgeco11 View Post
    I am a begginer at badminton and was hoping there may be someone who can help me clear up a couple of rules on serving and receiving serves in a singles game

    How many serves are you allowed to play? do you get a second serve like tennis? if the shuttlecock touches the net is that a let?
    Briefly, only one per point for that team. There is no second serve in badminton under the point-a-rally system.
    {If you are playing clulb rules under old 15-point system, then in doubles, when you loose your serve, your team mate will continue serving as second server.}

    The server must serve the shuttle to the diagonally opposite quadrant (the long thin one for singles, and the shorter broad one in doubles).

    The receiver must be in the opposite quadrant.

    Server serves from adjacent quadrant when rally is won by him/her or his/her team.

    When server loses rally, service is over, and the receiver now becomes the server.

    Service continues for server, as long as points are won by server.

    In regard to shuttle touching the net on service, will this shuttle go into the receiver's court? If yes, then good serve. You may count yourself an advanced player if you continue serving like this. And let me know, I will come and take lessons from you, really. I can only skip the shuttle off the net cord perhpas once in about seventeen hundred services.

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgeco11 View Post
    Also when receiving a serve are you allowed past your service line to smash a shot close to the net? or do you have to stay within your box?
    Yes. Once the shuttle crosses the net on your side, you may do whatever you want to end that rally, including smashing the shot into the opponent's court. Just make sure you do not touch net before the shuttle lands on court.

    No, you need not stay in your box (unless you have exceptionally long hands and legs).

Similar Threads

  1. serving!
    By malaysianfreak in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 21
    : 01-04-2011, 03:35 AM
  2. Serving
    By AndreasT in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 4
    : 01-18-2009, 07:03 PM
  3. Serving
    By SnowDaisy in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 5
    : 01-08-2008, 06:33 PM
  4. Serving
    By Reddragon in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 07-22-2003, 02:10 AM
  5. serving help
    By newbie in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 3
    : 04-02-2002, 07:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •