User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 23
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,632
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default what is the umpire playing at?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMu1t...e_gdata_player

    About 7min. LYD Receives but isn't ready, however, he dollies the bird back to the server who collects the shuttle. Technically the server faults.

    The umpire doesn't give let. He doesn't give Lyd the point. He awards the point to the server!!

    Can anyone explain this?

  2. #2
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,591
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    lyd was at fault for delaying and interupting the flow

    both he and jjs were distracted with the game in the next court, then when the server was about to serve, lyd put up his hand to indicate he's not ready yet, then he puts it down and appears ready... and then he puts his hand up again when the serve is delivered.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There's only 2 reasons I can find to fault the LYD in that case. Either he is called for a receiver fault because he moved before the service started AND attempted a return, so that does not warrant a let. If he let the bird drop, it would be a let. Like the umpire in the video said, he's not supposed to return the shuttle.

    The other reason I would see is that neither side should cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the receiver and server are ready. On completion of the backward movement of the server's racket head, and then LYD putting his hand up, is considered an undue delay, which results in a fault.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    After watching the video, I'm very confused. The umpire seems to be saying "you have to leave the shuttle" (the audio isn't good enough for me to be sure). That is, LYD can't claim he wasn't ready, because he played a return. But if that's the case, then the rally is supposed to continue. The server didn't hit the shuttle back, but caught it.

    It would make sense if the fault were for causing undue delay. But the umpire appears to be saying something different.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If the receiver is not ready, he is not supposed to react to the service.

    "9.4 The server shall not serve before the receiver is ready. However, the receiver shall be considered to have been ready if a return of the service is attempted."

    By returning the shuttle he "attempted" a service return.

  6. #6
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,333
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    LYD if not ready, should have just left the shuttle alone. the fact that he hits the shuttle back to the server indicates to the umpire that he was ready to receive the shuttle.

    players when not ready, should not touch the shuttle and just let it drop.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    LYD if not ready, should have just left the shuttle alone. the fact that he hits the shuttle back to the server indicates to the umpire that he was ready to receive the shuttle.

    players when not ready, should not touch the shuttle and just let it drop.
    But at that instant, would the rally not continue? I would understand why it would stop, but there is clearly nothing in the rule book that states that because he returned the service, it's a fault. It just states that if he returns it, he is deemed ready, which would mean that the rally would continue.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The umpire is correct, in that if LYD isn't ready he shouldn't return the shuttle but leave it, since he is returning it he must be ready, but at the same time he is indicating with his hand that he isn't ready, therefor rule 13.4.5 comes into play.
    The correct thing for the umpire would be to call a fault on LYD and therefor the point goes to the server.

    13.4.5 deliberately distracts an opponent by any action such as shouting or making gestures

    /Krysser
    Last edited by krysser; 05-06-2011 at 03:12 AM. Reason: spelling

  9. #9
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,591
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cantsmashthis,

    Agreed. In that case, not only is the umpire wrong, but the tournament referee is also wrong. Not to mention useless.

  10. #10
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,333
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    i think LYD's objection then is, if the rally continues, and his opponent catches the shuttle. then the opponent should lose the rally instead of him.

    but at the same time, Krysser has a point. he could've been ruled to distract the opponent to make him thinks like he is not ready.

    tough call, this one.

  11. #11
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,591
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Both LYD and the server were ready to replay a let immediately after in the right court. The server even has a surprised smile wondering how the umpire made his decision.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes and in smaller and youth tournaments there would have been a chance that the umpire would have called a let, and told the player that if he/she weren't ready they should not hit the shuttle as a part of teaching the player the rules, but this is a Grand Prix Gold tournament and the players should know better.
    The calling is by the book no question about that.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    My friend umpire says he would have just called a let. He thinks that the umpire made a mistake in calling it, and the referee had to stick with what has been called.

    I will ask for some feedback on this from other top umpires in America next week at Boston Open. I will relay you guys what they tell me by next week. I really see no reason why LYD should be faulted in this case.

  14. #14
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,591
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^^
    I looked at the video again carefully, and you'll see that the umpire was looking on all the while the Korean pair was getting distracted by the game in the next court. Then when lyd was preparing to receive, he had his hand up. Then he put his hand down indicating he was ready, and then he changes his mind and put his hand up again. But by this time, the server did not see lyd and was intently looking down on the shuttle and completed his serve.

    So the umpire called fault on lyd for touching the shuttle if he wasn't ready to receive, he could also fault him for undue delay for receiving. As cantsmashthis mentions, being a world pro player, lyd should know the rules already, that you don't attempt to receive if you say you're not ready.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cal Central
    Posts
    148
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default To Let or Not To Let

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Cantsmashthis,

    Agreed. In that case, not only is the umpire wrong, but the tournament referee is also wrong. Not to mention useless.
    I would not go that far as calling useless, just think, if that call was not made, you would not have responded the way you did. Be that as it may, from what happened at 6-all in Game 2, the easiest and least controversial option would have been calling a let.

    Be that as it may, since the let was not called, if I was in the high chair, I must now go by the book and award the point to the yellow team.

    Why? I hear you ask.

    Yellow played a legal shot with his racquet to return the serve, the shuttle came over the net to black (the server) who hit the shuttle and then caught it with his hand. Fault! Service Over, 7-6, Yellow. And then get ready with asbestos vest as Black heats up and explodes. This will be in complete accordance with the laws. The argument Black will have is that he was distracted by Yellow's hand signal, but still served. No matter, he caught the shuttle, thence a fault.

    In the situation of calling "Let" as soon as the shuttle was served, or even as late as the weak return by receiver, I would have called both the server and receiver and instruct them something like, Fellows, Play must be continuous, You Yellow, you must be ready to receive when the server is ready to serve, You Black, you wait for the receiver to be ready. If you have problems, let me know. Okay Chaps, no more of this, get back in position, and play. Something on these lines, it takes about 6 seconds max, unlike the situation that happened on court, where play was delayed from minute 7:11 to 10:00.

    Sometimes, it is in the best interests of the game to take the least controversial option, and there are always options available without being creative.
    Last edited by 2wheels04; 05-06-2011 at 05:53 PM.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The biggest problem I have with this is that the umpire doesn't even call a fault. He just calls the score as 7-6. If he's faulting LYD for causing a delay or for distracting the server, then he should be saying the word "fault" as soon as LYD's hand comes up the second time. The way it happened, it's really unclear why the umpire is awarding a point to the server.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 2wheels04 View Post
    Yellow played a legal shot with his racquet to return the serve, the shuttle came over the net to black (the server) who hit the shuttle and then caught it with his hand. Fault! Service Over, 7-6, Yellow. And then get ready with asbestos vest as Black heats up and explodes. This will be in complete accordance with the laws. The argument Black will have is that he was distracted by Yellow's hand signal, but still served. No matter, he caught the shuttle, thence a fault.
    Hmm yes yellow played a legal shot with his racket, but distracted black when he signaled his wasn't ready, and thereby breaking rule 13.4.5.
    I agree that the umpire should have called "fault" on yellow for breaking this rule.
    It is no excuse not knowing the rules as a player at that level.

    BTW I think the umpire is actually a BWF certified umpire and have umpired all major tournaments even the Olympics as far as I remember.

    /Krysser

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. can an umpire call a let?
    By pcll99 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 24
    : 07-14-2012, 11:31 AM
  2. Was the umpire fair?
    By limsy in forum Olympics BEIJING 2008
    Replies: 76
    : 08-13-2008, 11:40 PM
  3. how to become umpire
    By badylife in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 04-11-2008, 07:14 AM
  4. Can an umpire do this?
    By jas1121 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 9
    : 11-27-2006, 10:01 PM
  5. ‘The umpire should have called it a let’
    By ants in forum All England 2004
    Replies: 14
    : 03-27-2004, 11:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •