User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Behind The Shuttle
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Who Gets The Point?

    I just recently joined a tournament, Mixed Doubles, and i would like to know if the umpire officiating our championship game made the right call:

    Our opponent made a serve and i was supposed to be the receiver. After the serve, the shuttle went to the other "Non receiver" box where my partner was standing. Unfortunately, the shuttle hit my partner's racket as it was held high. The umpire gave the point to our opponent.

    Was it the correct call?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,220
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes
    law 13.2.3

    FAULTS
    It shall be a "fault":

    13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);
    13.2 if, in service, the shuttle:
    13.2.1 is caught on the net and remains suspended on its top;
    13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net; or
    13.2.3 is hit by the receiver's partner;


    Even if it was unintentionally hit on the racket, or if it had hit your partner's body, it is still your fault for not getting out of the way.
    Last edited by visor; 05-09-2011 at 10:24 PM.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Agreed, your partner should have moved the racket out of the way, the fact that she touched it during the service to you means it is a fault. If she had moved and the shuttle had landed out then your team would have gotten the point.

    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);
    13.2 if, in service, the shuttle:
    13.2.1 is caught on the net and remains suspended on its top;
    13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net; or
    13.2.3 is hit by the receiver’s partner;

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Behind The Shuttle
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ok then, thanks Visor and Druss for the answers...

    cheers

  5. #5
    Regular Member Badderz_Alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net
    This happened to me last week! ... so its not a "let" ?? and its point to the opposition ??

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    during rallies if the shuttle passing over the net and caught in the net, it will be a 'let' (happen to lin dan)

    i dont know that it will be a fault if it occur in service... new thing to learn..thanks...

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    865
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Badderz_Alpha View Post
    This happened to me last week! ... so its not a "let" ?? and its point to the opposition ??
    On a serve, yes, because even with the net not there, the bird is not going to reach the service line anyways (unless some strong breeze were to occur)

    In play, that is a let, because even on a tight net shot, the opponent would technically still have an opportunity to return if it were to not get caught in the net. That question was on my regional umpire test.

  8. #8
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,220
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^^
    makes sense, thanks for the clarification!

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cal Central
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CantSmashThis View Post
    On a serve, yes, because even with the net not there, the bird is not going to reach the service line anyways (unless some strong breeze were to occur)

    In play, that is a let, because even on a tight net shot, the opponent would technically still have an opportunity to return if it were to not get caught in the net. That question was on my regional umpire test.
    Did you join the ranks? Pass the test, that is.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    865
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, I did. I am currently in Boston umpiring for the Boston Open right now.

Similar Threads

  1. Six-Point Suspension Vs. Six-Point Internal
    By Pete LSD in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools
    Replies: 107
    : 04-17-2012, 12:11 AM
  2. Who won the point?
    By Wong8Egg in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 03-29-2009, 07:04 AM
  3. Replies: 12
    : 03-19-2009, 07:26 AM
  4. 2-point, 4-point, 6-point stringing machines-what does it mean?
    By taneepak in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools
    Replies: 11
    : 06-30-2004, 05:34 PM
  5. point or no point???
    By mojoe in forum General Forum
    Replies: 5
    : 11-10-2002, 12:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •