User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Burnaby...and girls, don't PM SmashingBird, PM me instead..heh
    Posts
    185
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default A shuttle hitting the boundary lines...

    According to Law 13.2.1 "[It is a fault if in play the shuttle] lands outside the boundaries of the court (ie not on or within the boundary lines)"

    What if the tip of the shuttle hits the edge of the boundary line? (like if you look from above, half the shuttle is out, half the shuttle is in) Is that considered a fault or not?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Paradise, Canada
    Posts
    550
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    By the books, if the first point of impact touches the line, then the shot was good. Otherwise it is a fault.

    But if my opponent hits a shot like this and I am trailing behind in the game, then, well, ...

    -Rick

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I also believe it depends on the "1st pt of contact".

    With the result of bumping, sliding, spinning, etc, shuttle might stop even 2 ft away from where it original "landing" spot. With different angle, position, timing of view, it's very possible to create arguments between players.

    Well, that's why we need line judges for, right?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Burnaby...and girls, don't PM SmashingBird, PM me instead..heh
    Posts
    185
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by LazyBuddy
    I also believe it depends on the "1st pt of contact".

    With the result of bumping, sliding, spinning, etc, shuttle might stop even 2 ft away from where it original "landing" spot. With different angle, position, timing of view, it's very possible to create arguments between players.

    Well, that's why we need line judges for, right?

    heh, there aren't any line judges in recreational play. But if the line judge saw this situation, should it be called out or in?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Burnaby...and girls, don't PM SmashingBird, PM me instead..heh
    Posts
    185
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by Traum
    By the books, if the first point of impact touches the line, then the shot was good. Otherwise it is a fault.

    But if my opponent hits a shot like this and I am trailing behind in the game, then, well, ...

    -Rick
    hm....what if the point of impact is at the edge of the line?...

    hehe....I'll need a line judge if I play u....j/k!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i have line judged in big (canadian) tournaments before.
    for those super rare instance where the cork split the outer line edge 50/50, it is really up to the line judge to make that subjective call. I have my own subjective criteria but i better not disclose it. Anyway, i never had to face one of those instance before, yet.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    boston, ma, US
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    "as long as it hits the line, it's not a fault." that's always my philosophy, also if it's hard to tell, or something close like that, usually favors not fault rather than fault. If you didn't see the shot "in" or "not", how can you call it "out", right?

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by TTT
    heh, there aren't any line judges in recreational play. But if the line judge saw this situation, should it be called out or in?
    Well, if there's no judge, it really depend on how "honest" the players could be. However, I clearly repect the fact that ppl have their own "judgement standard" in a case like "cork right on the line". For me, as long as the cork (1st contact pt) touched the line, I will say, "in".

    Sometimes, there do have players calling everything in or out for his/her own favor. Well, u know, just try to ignore them, since they will make the game completely no fun.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i agree Lazybud, if it's close and i'm truly not sure, i call it in. i'll make up for it on the next point!
    g

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,747
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by cooler
    i have line judged in big (canadian) tournaments before.
    for those super rare instance where the cork split the outer line edge 50/50, it is really up to the line judge to make that subjective call. I have my own subjective criteria but i better not disclose it. Anyway, i never had to face one of those instance before, yet.
    Cooler,

    It's good that you are not from Korea!!!

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Burnaby...and girls, don't PM SmashingBird, PM me instead..heh
    Posts
    185
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for all your inputs guys!

    hehe..sometimes (should I say most of the time) I couldn't even see the first point of impact anyways....shuttle is too fast for me to handle...

Similar Threads

  1. Accuracy when hitting shuttle?
    By KuroyamaAkihito in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 11
    : 07-05-2011, 05:28 AM
  2. LOOK (observe) & THINK before HITTING the shuttle
    By kmusalim in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 14
    : 08-28-2008, 12:48 PM
  3. Hitting the shuttle when receiving
    By ljq in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 1
    : 10-09-2002, 12:02 PM
  4. HITTING PPL WITH THE GODDAMN SHUTTLE
    By May in forum General Forum
    Replies: 20
    : 07-22-2001, 02:48 AM
  5. Shuttle hitting the roof
    By Birdie in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 7
    : 07-20-2001, 12:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •