Just Started

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by shuttlecock7, Apr 28, 2003.

1. shuttlecock7

shuttlecock7 Regular Member

I have just begun to play badminton competitively at my school, and while I am not very good, I am a fairly decent athlete and really enjoy badminton. I was wondering, what areas of my game I should work on the most? My serve is the strongest point of the game right now.

2. Traum

Traum Regular Member

I am no expert player myself, but if you are gong to be serious about badminton, then, IMO, the most important thing to learn is footwork. It is the foundation on which the game itself is based on.

Despite its importance, it is probably the most often overlooked aspect in badminton. When most people start playing badminton, all they want to do is to hit the shuttle around. And once they got used to their incorrect footwork, it becomes extremely difficult to erase the wrong steps from your muscle memory.

-Rick

3. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer
    Just wondering what kinda serve u using? Flick? Back hand? Long serve? Short?

Also, which event u participate the most? Single? Double?

4. shuttlecock7

I use backhand for more accuracy; I can usually drop it on the front line. However, once my opponent starts playing up, I switch to a forehand serve. I can still be accurate, but this way I can smash it over their heads or drop it in front. Thanks for your responses.

5. shuttlecock7

Oh, also, I usually play singles but I like playing doubles the most.

6. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer
    1. Backhand short serve: What u will do if ur opponent can put a deep clear in return, or drop u back (say, on ur back hand front side)?

2. Forehand serve: still a short serve? or a long one? What do u mean by "smash it over or drop it in front"? Do u mean use serve to drag opponent off position, then attack?

7. modious

modious Regular Member