Advise please

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Stan876, Jun 19, 2011.

1. Stan876

Stan876 New Member

Director
    Hi Folks

I am an amateur player i like playing a type of game with accurate and deft shots but i am basically forced to play in this way due to a motorbike accident years back that left my wrist weak. The problem i have is when i am under pressure it's difficult for me to play to the back of the court to get myself out of trouble i seem to play with a weak grip and struggle to produce enough power. Can anyone suggest a remedy for this and what type of racket is best suited for me

Stan

2. Benwilluk

Benwilluk Regular Member

Marketing
    Hi Stan - what type of racket do you currently play with?

If you have a weak wrist you may find it hard to wield a stiff shafted racket and may be more suited to something a bit more flexible.

3. Avenger

Avenger Regular Member

Student
    I agree with benwilluk
    I would go for more flexible (than your current racket), and maybe more head light? (better manouver)
    or head heavy if your wrist getting better and you want more power

4. urameatball

urameatball Regular Member

Photographer
    I was in a very serious motorcycle accident 3 years ago. A lot of tissue on my arm was ripped completely off. Took 3 months for me to gain muscle control of my arm again.
    Skin and muscles will rebuild. 6months later, I tried picking up a tennis racquet and casually swinging it, my wrist nearly broke off (the doctor warned me, but I'm stubborn). Got back into badminton about 1.5years ago and now my smashes are stronger than they were before the accident. It will take a LOT of effort and a certain level of stubbornness to improve, but don't let the accident make you think you're less capable than anyone else.