Li-Ning Vic Grade

Discussion in 'Australia / New Zealand' started by MelbonBaddy, Jul 1, 2011.

1. MelbonBaddy

MelbonBaddy New Member

Hi all, I'm new to competition, and just signing up for my first time.

When I signed up, the entry form says Rally Point to 21 pts, best of 3 games.

However, they decided to change the format to 1 Games to 30 (No Setting). Effectively, this limits my playing time and match experience.

Now being my first time, i was hoping to get some experience under my belt and play as much as possible.

A couple of questions,
    1) is it normal for organisers to change without announcing the update through email / telephone? I wont have known this had i not check their website today :(
    2) is it not misleading advertisement?
    3) if it is misleading competitors, should they not refund partially the entry fees that i paid?

I find it very dishonest for the sudden change in rules, but if this is how competitions are normally run, i'll just suck it up

2. SmashBoi

SmashBoi Regular Member

Hi MelbonBaddy

Thought I might be able to answer som, if not all, of your questions.

1) The updates are generally announced on the Badminton Victoria website (www.badmintonvic.com.au). The entry form also stated that the details about the draws etc will be posted onto the website prior to the tournament. My understanding is that time around it might have been a little late because of some late withdrawals. But with over 250 players entering into the tournament, I, for one, would cut them some slack. :)
    2) The entry form also said that the scoring format may change depending on entries - so personally I don't think that is misleading advertisement. It is understandable that sometimes format might change due to entry numbers and limited courts - I mean some of the events have more than 40 entries.