2015 The STAR AUSTRALIAN Open Super Series : Qualification & R/32

Author : CLELY

Venue : Sports Centre Olympic Boulevard, Sydney Olympic Park, Sydney-AUS

Total prize-money : US$750,000

Tournament website : http://www.australianbadmintonopen.com.au/

Tournamentsofware link : http://www.tournamentsoftware.com/sp…4-9A933DBA0736

Tournament time-table : http://www.australianbadmintonopen.com.au/schedule

Sydney time : http://www.australianbadmintonopen.com.au/schedule

2014 WINNERS => http://bwf.tournamentsoftware.com/sp…275&d=20140629

MS – Lin Dan (CHN)
WS – Saina Nehwal (IND)
MD – Lee Yong Dae/Yoo Yeon Seong (KOR)
WD – Tian Qing/Zhao Yunlei (CHN)
XD – Ko Sung Hyun/Kim Ha Na (KOR)

After Sudirman Cup extravaganza ended, it’s time to focus on back to back lucrative Super Series circuit in Sydney and Jakarta next week where all prominent shuttlers are hungry to seek glory in top tier tournament and the first tournament that goes towards Olympic qualification.

It’s fierce men’s signles battlefield from the very early round – last year’s runner-up Simon Santoso must start his campaign from qualification and he will take on tricky opponent Lee Dong Keun. China twin stars, defending champion Lin Dan has Danish #2 Viktor Axelsen as his first test and top-seed Chen Long will meet the qualifier. Other title contenders Jorgensen and Srikanth will face Thai #1 Tanongsak and Dubai Super Series Final runner-up Hans Kristian Vittinghus respectively.

No less than 7 Japanese women’s singles occupy the main draw to rock China domination recently. Some first round intriguing ties will attract badminton fans to watch, Wang YH v Sindhu, Takahashi v Kim HM, Michelle Li v Okuhara, Bae YJ v Tai TY. Top three seeds are expected to pass first round, Li Xuerui and both last year winner and runner-up, Saina Nehwal and Carolina Marin respectively.

Men’s doubles first round will offer a high quality duel, reigning v former world champion, Ko SH/Shin BC against Ahsan/Setiawan also several close ties in the fray, Astrup/Rasmussen v Goh VS/Tan WK, Nayaka/Yusuf v Conrad/Kolding, Hashimoto/Hirata v Kim GJ/Kim SR and revenge in the air for Endo/Hayakawa who lost to Russian duo Ivanov/Sozonov at Sudirman Cup group stage. We’ll see China new scratch pairs debut, Cai Yun/Kang Jun and Liu Cheng/Lu Kai.

Only two Chinese women’s doubles participate this time round: Ma J/Tang YT and Tian Q/Tang JH  will challenge a string of established pairs, Matsutomo/Takahashi, Pedersen/Juhl, Kakiiwa/Maeda, Maheswari/Polii.

In the absence of the powerful duo of Zhang Nan/Zhao Yunlei, the rivalry will be between Fischer/Pedersen, Ahmad/Natsir along with China top-seeds Xu C/Ma J and two fast improved pairs Liu C/Bao YX, Lu K/Huang YQ. Other names who will escalate the competitiveness in this category are Chris and Gabby Adcock, Kolding/Juhl, Jordan/Susanto also last year champion Ko SH/Kim HN. Interestingly, there are some Korean experimental pairs like Yoo YS/Chang YN, the talented Eom HW who partners with her junior Choi Sol Gyu this time, Lee YD/Lee SH.

The tournament will kick off tomorrow with qualfying round (09.00am local time, 5 courts) => http://www.tournamentsoftware.com/sp…736&d=20150526