Lower back pain

Discussion in 'Injuries' started by Rocket11, Jul 16, 2017.

1. Rocket11

Rocket11 New Member

I started playing badminton regularly for past 5 months. A week ago I was playing a club tournament and playing intensely. Halfway through match I picked up the shuttlecock from the floor and immediately had an acute pain in my lower back (central area) but I carried on playing to finish the match. During the whole week the pain was intense when I sit in my office chair and shifted towards my left side of my lower back.
    After few days of rest and pain started to vanish. The next Sunday I went to court and started doing some drills. Just after few mins I landed on my left leg and picked up very intense pain and left home immediately. Checked with near by doctor and he said it might be muscle tear and gave some injection and tablets for few days. Has anyone been in similar injury before? How long does it take to be back in full fitness and play normally?

2. Charlie-SWUK

Charlie-SWUK Regular Member

N90 sycophant
    Maybe a muscle tear, maybe pinched a nerve. The intense pain thing in your leg rather than your back makes me think it's nerves.

The trouble is, a torn muscle needs to be treated carefully, and a pinched nerve requires stretching and movement.

I would take NSAIDs (ibuprofen), keep your back warm, and lightly stretch it over the week.

3. Rocket11

Rocket11 New Member

I don't have pain in my leg. To be precise, when I picked the shuttle I felt like inserting a needle slowly at my lower back.
    During one week the pain faded away.
    The next week when jumping between rallies I landed on my left leg and the pain was back. This time it was more intense than the first time (not something like injecting a needle, but worse)

4. visor

visor Regular Member