Overseas training opportunities?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Richie1234, Jul 16, 2017.

1. Richie1234

Richie1234 New Member

I recently had a conversation with a guy at my badminton club who said the best thing to do to really improve would be to go to Malaysia or a similar country for quality badminton training. He said it is relatively cheap. I am living in the SouthEast US and am looking to improve. There are really not many coaching opportunities near my location. I am a beginner/intermediate player.

Would I be better off just staying somewhere in the USA for two weeks? I think the cost for two weeks of training/housing in the US would be equal to about 6 weeks in Malaysia.

Looking to see what you guy think.

2. eiji

eiji Regular Member

overseas exposure would always be good if you are looking to compete. Mixing with different coaching styles, cultures, playing styles, culture.If you are going to be training with players that are better than you, it will naturally help you improve faster. Take up the opportunity to train for 6 weeks in malaysia.

3. opikbidin

opikbidin Regular Member

Student
    drmchsraj likes this.
  4. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    Would love to have done this when younger. No opportunity to do it now. If you love to learn and have the time and funds, why not? The opportunity may never come again in life. It is easier now as more information is available over the internet.

You can calculate the number of hours of practice time. Make sure you are fit before you arrive. There's no point wasting the first few weeks just trying to get fit for the training.

5. drmchsraj

drmchsraj Regular Member

Where in the SE?
    You can mix travel+badminton+friendships if you go to an academy overseas. You may do it a little more comfortably if you stay in the US, provided you find a good place.

6. Richie1234

Richie1234 New Member